We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to snuff for Cracker Barrel”

Cracker Barrel Old Country
Ranked #26 of 238 Restaurants in Valdosta
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not up to snuff for Cracker Barrel”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have been going to Cracker Barrel for years. As a rule, the chain is consistently good. You can count on the fact that Cracker Barrel in Missouri tastes the same as in Georgia, Alabama, or anywhere else. However, this restaurant is an exception to that rule. I would not stop back to the Valdosta Cracker Barrel again, and unfortunately it may be awhile before I am willing to stop at ANY Cracker Barrel again, due to this experience.

We were on our way through Valdosta and stopped around 8:00PM on Thu., Mar. 21, 2013, for a late dinner. After washing up, we were seated by 8:15PM. The restaurant was not busy (we were one of fewer than 10 tables), but we didn't see a waiter for nearly 20 min. (the table seated after us actually had their meal order taken before we could catch the attention of a waiter to even give a drink order).

Three of the four of us decided to take advantage of the all-day breakfast. Our order didn't come until after 9:00PM (at which time the aforementioned table that was seated after us had already completed their meal), and when it finally came, it was wrong, which took another 10-15 min. to correct. The food was undercooked, had an off taste, and we didn't see our waiter again until he dropped our bill on the table.

About a half-hour down the road, my wife began to experience bad stomach cramps and became extremely ill. We ended up having to call it a night on our trip home quite a bit earlier than we had originally planned.

This was a very disappointing experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    51
    17
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
511 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Country Good”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had breakfast here on our way to Atlanta. Cracker Barrel is one of our favorites highway stops during a road trip. I had Uncle Hershel's favorite and my friend had an oatmeal breakfast. Both entrees were prepared very well and Cracker Barrel came through for us once again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrEdnWilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americus, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Old Town Feeling”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

You know when you go there its a another world inside that store. Feels like you went to a small town in Arizona or something..lol They are always festive and the food is great. The biscuits and different jams are to die for.. Love it

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Another great place to eat. I ate at this location several times during my stay in Valdosta Georgia. The food was always great and the resturaunt was a short drive from my hotel.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food Not Enough”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

At this Cracker Barrel we have noticed that the portions are much smaller then at others we have stopped at. Service this time was very slow.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hcs257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracker Barrel Old Country also viewed

 

Been to Cracker Barrel Old Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing