We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall”
Review of Courtyard Valdosta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Valdosta
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Valdosta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

After staying at Fairfields (good budget value) on this trip, it was nice to have the little upgrades at the Courtyard.

Good bed
Spacious
Mostly clean hotel

Way overpriced breakfast
Not nearly enough luggage carts ( I know this seems like a nit-picky thing, but it was an issue on checkin and checkout; they know what capacity is and should accommodate necessarily).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dezmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 271 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have been staying at the Courtyard because we needed a place to stay for the South Georgia Classic Golf tournament, where we have been volunteering for the past couple of years. It was a good choice, the place is quiet, but convenient for nearby restaurants and shops, the rooms a spacious and the restaurant facilities are good! The last time we stayed there we were upgraded, which added to the quality of our stay and was very much appreciated, since it included a balcony - welcome addition if you are a lover of fresh air!! We will definitely be back in April 2013, and are already looking forward to it!! Although it is more expensive than other hotels of similar standard it is worth it to book early and possible get the prepaid rate - cheaper!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gudrun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We arrived on Thursday Novemember 1, 2012. Check in was quick. The room was ok. The bathroom had whiskers on the counter and the coffee pot had a thick layer of dusk with gray hair on it.

The towels were thin and rough, the Paul Mitchell shampoo would have been great if the bottles were not empty. We tried to call the front desk to change rooms but nobody answered. We gave up, went to sleep and told the desk clerk the next morning.

When we returned Sat evening the room was clean but a very loud family moved in next to us. They ran up and down the halls yelling, banging doors and for an extra fun treat, they pounded on their wall. By 11:30PM I had enough and called the front desk. Again no answer. We went to the room ourselves and after speaking with the parents who were in another connecting room, things quieted down.

On a good note the bed was comfortable and the WIFI worked well.

I chose this hotel because Courtyards are usually a good choice. Not this one. It was more expensive then other hotels in the area that had better reviews. Lesson learned on this bad choice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ariesfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Courtyard Valdosta, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear ariesfire,

Thank you for the review about your recent stay with us here in Valdosta. We are sorry to hear of the issues you mentioned and we have taken steps to focus on these items with our Housekeeping staff. Our goal is for you to have an outstanding and pleasurable stay. We hope to see you again if you are in the area. We wish you safe travels.
General Manager-Courtyard-Valdosta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I am in the USAF and was TDY in Valdosta for the recent airshow at Moody AFB. Myself and eight other members stayed at this hotel for the week we were in town. The first night we got in it was kind of late so we didn't "check things out". After returning from work the next day, my room hadn't been cleaned and it was about 7pm. As I was making my own bed, I noticed dried chocolate on the bottom of the bedspread. I continually tried to get in touch with the front desk to no avail. I even went down a couple of times and there was no one manning the desk. My roommate and I eventually went to bed because we had to be up early the next day. Upon returning from work the following day, around 5pm, the cleaning ladies were in the hall. My roommate and I were thinking, okay, our room has been cleaned. We walked in and NOTHING was done. (This is now two days in a row) I called the front desk and explained the situation. I told them I knew my bedding hadn't been changed from the previous stay because of the chocolate on the bedspread, which is DISGUSTING!!! They sent someone immediately. The woman they sent up was very rude!!! My roommate and I left so we wouldn't be in the way. When we came back, our bathroom items-razors, loofas, etc..- were in the tub and on the floor...definetely NOT how we left them. I didn't make a complaint because I was giving the woman the benefit of the doubt-maybe she was also having a bad day. The following days they would ask if we needed towels and my roommate would ask them to make my bed, but that's it. After two days of to-go boxes, water bottles, etc..started to pile up, I went downstairs-it was about 2am-to get a trash bag to throw away the trash the "cleaning ladies" did not throw away. The lady at the front desk was nice but her uniform was very sloppy and her name tag was upside down. The folowing day after that, the cleaning lady asked me if we needed anything and I told her no. I had already done their job. I left the room. My roommate came downstairs and told me their was a light tap at the door. As she went to answer it, one of the cleaning ladies came in and said she didn't know anyone was in the room-the same lady that asked me if we needed anything. She told her yes and this lady gave her a dirty look and told her I said we didn't need anything. My roommate said, "Okay, if she told you we don't need anything, then we're good". With much attitude the woman said "We'll do it anyways". Our room hadn't been cleaned at all. They just replaced the towels and made the beds. As we were packing up our stuff, my roommate noticed her nice dress that was hanging in the closet was taken off the hanger and thrown in the top of the closet. (By the way, my roommate and I hid our toothbrushes every single morning after the first encounter!!!) The next morning we thought we were checking out, but our boss told the front desk to hold the rooms just in case one of our jets didn't make it up. One of them didn't. We had to check back in and we got the same rooms as before. My boss said he knew his bedsheets hadn't been changed for someone else, in case we didn't come back, because he spilled a little bit of tea on one of the sheets the previous night and when he got back in the room, the sheets hadn't been changed because the spot was still there. All in all, this was the WORST hotel experience I have EVER had and being I go TDY A LOT do to being military, that is pretty bad. Our group is recommending to our chain of command NO ONE we send to Moody EVER use this hotel!!!!! Oh and the other guys we stayed with said their trash wouldn't be taken out for a few days either. I would sleep in my car before I'd EVER use this hotel again!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at ANY other hotel would be better!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Courtyard Valdosta, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Amber R.

I thank you for taking time to write such a candid review. I can assure you that your issues will be addressed with the staff. Please know that this is certainly not the level of service that we offer to our guests. The service to our guest is and shall be our main priority. We will take steps to make sure that you and all of our guests are taken care of moving forward. Please accept our apology for not meeting your expectations but do know that your comments are welcomed and will be used as a tool for improvement. Safe travels to you and thank you for your service.
GM-Courtyard-Valdosta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We visit Valdosta often and always stay in the Courtyard. The rooms are extremely clean and roomy. The staff is excellent and always helpful in meeting our needs. They even know us by name. We love having the Bistro and Bar available. This location is very convenient to shopping, restaurants, theatres, and VSU. We highly recommend and maybe we will see you there!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here on our way back to Florida. A little difficult to find once we left the interstate,(Thank goodness for our GPS.) not enough directional signs. The front desk help was very professional, well dress uniform. The room was clean, bathroom adequate. Close to restaurants. And a good night sleep!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamadebbie34229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I've found that people overrate establishments, so I rate them based upon what I feel they are truly worth. If I've given it a "very good" or "excellent" then it truly is. This establishmnet is one that I stay at on my way to a Florida vacation and have done so for several years. It has been updated, the beds are comfortable, the staff courteous and professional. I would not hesitate to recommend it for personal or business travel. I reserve two rooms, one for my wife and myself, the other for my daughter and her family. Her little girl likes the pool as the first night for our trip and looks forward to it each year. I hope you too have a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Good location off I-75 and convenient to multiple dining choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valdosta hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Valdosta Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Valdosta
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Valdosta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Valdosta Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Valdosta, GA
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Valdosta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Valdosta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Valdosta

Address: 1564 Baytree Rd, Valdosta, GA 31602-2738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Valdosta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Valdosta
Price Range: $106 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Valdosta 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for Valdosta hotels, you'll find that the Courtyard by Marriott is perfect for business or pleasure. Our Valdosta, Georgia hotel is just off I-75 and the closest hotel to Valdosta State University. We are minutes away from South Georgia Medical Center, Moody Air Force Base, Wild Adventures Theme Park and the Rainwater Conference Center as well. Enjoy great shopping at the Valdosta Mall or catch a movie at the Valdosta Stadium Cinemas-both just steps away. Our Valdosta, Georgia hotel features modern decor as well as free Wi-Fi and wired Internet access, plush bedding, and 32" flat-screen TVs. Our new lobby boasts media pod booths and a 52" GoBoard touch-screen TV. The Bistro offers delicious breakfast and dinner with beverages from Starbucks and our full bar. Eat. Drink. Connect. Or relax in our sparkling pool and fitness room. Planning an event? Let us know - our larger meeting space can host up to 40. Few Valdosta hotels can match our attention to detail, so make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Valdosta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Valdosta Hotel Valdosta
Valdosta Courtyard
Valdosta Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing