We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food! Great Find!”
Review of Steel Magnolias

Steel Magnolias
Ranked #3 of 237 Restaurants in Valdosta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Steel Magnolias in Valdosta, GA our food base is urban Southern, taking the roots of classic Southern cuisine and showing a new way of looking at them. We serve our fare with an old familiar smile, where our patrons are surprised by a new approach, yet still know the secret handshake. We prepare the best quality ingredients at the freshest possible point and allow them to speak for themselves. We support local farmers and Artesian producers in an effort to become a supporting element in the community and drive our “eat local, be local” philosophy.
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food! Great Find!”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We frequently meet family in Valdosta, but usually eat at another wonderful local restaurant. This time we were traveling with a pet. We found Steel Magnolias on "bringfido.com" . Wow! did we luck out!! We sat outside and they even provided our dog with homemade dog treats and a bowl of water! The service was fantastic and the food was AMAZING! We will definitely be back! Valdosta is our 'halfway" point traveling from Ellijay, GA to Central Florida, we often stay in the area to break up the drive. So glad we found you! Thanks!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GAgirlFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    82
    17
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise and Delicious!!!”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Driving from Naples, Fl to Chicago, IL on a whim jumped off highway for downtown Valdosta for dinner. Charming atmosphere with an authentic, creative and sophisticated menu of truly fresh preparations with a Southern twist. Delicious salmon prepared to perfection. Waitstaff was so friendly, service was impeccable and dessert cream pie to dream about. We sat outside on a gorgeous summer night and overlooked the kitchen. Busy Friday night and with no reservation we were treated like royalty. Will be back again and again and again. Best meal out in a very long time!!!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank judykt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A Southern Belle With A Wild Side”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Oh what a place! Personality, soul and the food to back it up. We read other Trip Advisor reviews and decided to stop on our drive to the Atlanta area. What a smart move! Situated on a quaint street in Valdosta, "welcome" rings out from the moment you walk in. There you have a choice of a great inside dining room or a totally unique (and romantic) rooftop to dine on. We chose the rooftop under the stars. From the presentation of the napkin wrapped in twine, to a hand-made menu filled with one unique listing after another, we didn't stop saying "wow" from the moment we arrived. And the food delivered. From a delicious duck appetizer, to shrimp and grits, with fried okra, squash casserole, and mac and cheese on the side, everything was not only delicious but filled with flare and originality. To cap off a great evening, we decided to eat dessert down stairs and grabbed a seat at a special table overlooking the kitchen. All the desserts looked so good, we got three -- all of which were some of the best we ever ate. Better still, we got to meet the owner/chef, who truly oozes with the same personality and flare as her restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank greglewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Southern Cooking & Hospitality at its best!!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful and refreshing change from your typical chain restaurants! The food was delicious and beautifully plated and priced very reasonably! The invitingly warm hospitality the owner and staff offer, combined with the quaint atmosphere makes this a 6 Star restaurant for us!! Definitely worth the drive no matter how far or how much time it takes you!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
181 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great stop halfway to ATL”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Valdosta is our halfway point between Orlando and Atlanta. Love driving just slightly it of the way for this simple, tasteful and delicious restaurant. There is quite a bit of charm and we loved our burgers and pulled pork sandwiches. I like that it is quiet, too. It's a really nice break from the drive.

Helpful?
2 Thank Chele32789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steel Magnolias also viewed

 

Been to Steel Magnolias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing