We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smok'n Pig is a good place for BBQ”
Review of Smok'n Pig B-B-Q

Smok'n Pig B-B-Q
Ranked #2 of 242 Restaurants in Valdosta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Phone 229-245-8BBQ - it looked like it had just opened
Lake City, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Smok'n Pig is a good place for BBQ”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Smok'n pig is a good place for BBQ. The brisket is lean and has good flavor. The chicken is sometimes dry. The pork has good flavor but sometimes there are fatty chunks in it that need to be removed. The brisket is the most consistent. The sides are typical fast BBQ fare. When we need a quick meal it is a good choice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Counselor-gardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    626
    280
    95
    33
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lip Smackin Finger Lickin Good”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

If you go to Wild Adventures Theme Park in Valdosta, this is a absolute must stop restaurant. The plates are huge. We get the pulled pork sandwich, which more than a meal itself. The meat is well smoked, juicy and tender, the sides are delicious and the atmosphere is just like a Texas roadhouse. If you want you can do the all u can eat salad and side bar. My daughter got the baby back ribs and they pulled right off the bone, yet were tender and juicy. I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Too much in quantity to eat”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Ordered the pulled pork, brunswick stew and cole slaw. After I went to the included salad bar I could not eat everything on the plate. Nancy was my server and wow what a great smile and attitude. If you can be sat in her section ask for her. Food was very affordable, fresh and TOO MUCH in quantity to eat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alm08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Valdosta”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This is one of my favorite restaurants in town. You get a lot of food for a great price. The salad bar is the best part. There are tons of choices on it. There are plenty of dishes and sides to choose from. The only downfall is that sometimes the service is lacking. The servers don't always seen interested in helping the customer. You would think if you worked for tips you would be a bit nicer to the patrons.

Helpful?
Thank jfarrar1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

On a Saturday night, we were seated pretty fast for a party of 6. Our server was polite, nice and quick. We ordered fried mushrooms, shrimp, a couple of ribs ribs, couple of steak sandwich(?), brisket, and chicken fingers for the kid. The platters came with 2 sides, a dessert, and trips to salad bar. The salad bar didn't have very many choices for that big of a restaurant. The shrimp was delicious. The brisket was so dry and looked old. All the others were average except for the peach cobbler whih was really yummy! I have to saythat the portions were huge and very affordable but if you want unforgettable bbq, 4 rivers in jacksonville, fl is the top choice. Worth the drive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Cab0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smok'n Pig B-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Smok'n Pig B-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing