We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously? This place is average at very best.”
Review of Smok'n Pig B-B-Q

Smok'n Pig B-B-Q
Ranked #3 of 238 Restaurants in Valdosta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Phone 229-245-8BBQ - it looked like it had just opened
Blue Ridge, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Seriously? This place is average at very best.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I used to live in the Valdosta area but we have been moved away for around 8 years now. While recently visiting, I was excited to try out the Smok'n Pig as it is highly reviewed. I don't know if we just came on a bad day or what, but the pork was seriously terrible. I mean it really had a very bad taste to it. Everything else was ok. Service, price were fine. Salad bar was ok, not a huge selection. But the BBQ was barely edible.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    621
    279
    94
    32
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“YEEHAW! I had the best quality barbecue I ever had!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Great service, nice and clean restaurant, and great quality food! I highly recommend the BBQ beans and the cole slaw! The sliced beef brisket and ribs are excellent. If you're driving on by, stop here to have a meal!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cberru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you like BBQ...”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I could eat BBQ probably at least twice a week and maybe more. And when we happen to be in Valdosta, Georgia, "Smokin' Pig" is our choice for this Southern delicacy. While at times they're very busy, be patient, they get to you rather quickly. You'll be happy you waited.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank gottahavit2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogart, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent 'cue”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I consider myself a BBQ connoisseur and I am one. Really. So I was kind of skeptical about The Smokin' Pig in Valdosta: too close to the interstate, too new, too big, looks like a Yankee trap. I thought my fears were confirmed when I heard " we don't serve Coke, just Pepsi". Then our order came (great sevice). Fried okra, cornbread, collard greens and a huge chopped pork sand which. All were as good as I've ever had. On top if that, the Brunswick Stew - a Georgia delicacy - was delicious. Really delicious. So don't miss Smokin Pig. Bring your own Coke though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jpburks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

On theroad to Florida we HAVE to stop here. The portions are enormous and the service is great. The BBQ is just incredible

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lveigasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smok'n Pig B-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Smok'n Pig B-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing