We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management Chooses Not To Address Concerns”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Valdosta West - Mall Area
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Valdosta
Certificate of Excellence
Longwood, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Management Chooses Not To Address Concerns”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Property clean and bright, comfortably furnished and appointed. Staff on site friendly. This was a Sunday evening through Monday morning one-day stay. All was fine until we began our breakfast and checkout in the morning. That's when it became apparent the hallways near the elevators were insufficient in size to accomodate the number of guests moving about when at the same time, multiple hotel housekeeping staff were setting up on both the ground floor and our floor, with their service carts near the elevators, taking up room so badly needed by guests and their luggage. There was way to much congestion with guests & luggage AND housekeeping carts and staff on both floors as we tried to get down to breakfast and then move our luggage down from our room. Management can't control checkout congestion caused by guests but they can prevent the addition of congestion by controlling start times and basic job setup of hotel staff! Housekeeping staff needs to start their mornings later, after the typical 7:30 to 9:00 crunch of checkout - and also cue their service carts AWAY from the elevator areas of the facility. And to make matters worse, the elevators were very slow - causing even more congestion. -- As we felt this was an issue regarding scheduling of staff we chose to deal with our concerns via the Holiday Inn review and concern system rather than lodge a complaint with the front desk-and time was short. We needed to get on the road. Upon our return home we did complete a review of our stay on Holiday Inn's review system. Shortly after completion of that review - we were contacted by a Guest Relations Case Manager who promised a followup by the hotel management staff. We were also advised our review would not be published! We have waited patiently for over one month with no contact by local property management as promised. Due to the lack of followup by Guest Relations and Property Management we have rated Service and Value 1 of 5 possible ratings.

Room Tip: Based on the way elevator areas are congested during normal morning checkout times, require ground-f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisAnnImage_Photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamsHotelGroup, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Valdosta West - Mall Area, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Howard,

I apologize deeply for your concerns not being addressed. We strive to address every customer comment quickly and are disappointed that we have not done so for you.

I have sent you a personal email to apologize as well and request a personal conversation. Please contact me should that email not make it to you.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Sincerely,
General Manager
(229)249-8900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    62
    23
    5
    7
See reviews for
101
57
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flagler County Fl
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

When traveling through Georgia , be sure to spend a night or more at this Holiday Inn Express.
I travel over 14,000 miles a year on business and pleasure and can assure you this Hotel stands out among the best for a pleasant stay, starting with Jamie at the front desk, who was so pleasnat and helpful with local activities and places to have dinner.
The morning complimentary breakfast was made even more enjoyable by Vern, she started our day off with a pleasant Good morning, and kept the serving area spotless. How she keeps up with preparing food and cleaning is remarkable.When checking out Stephanie at the front desk
was so nice. she made us feel appreciated.
In short this Holiday Inn Express is exceptional and sets the example for hospitality.

Room Tip: I believe that all the rooms are quiet. If you face west you may catch a nice sunset and east for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamsHotelGroup, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Valdosta West - Mall Area, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are very grateful for your review and more than please that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. We strive to be exceptional and are glad your experience with our hotel and team met that goal.

Thank you and we hope to see you again soon,
Ty O'Steen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We wanted a hotel right off the interstate. This was the place. The staff was very friendly and informative. We stayed on the 2nd floor west side. The only thing was the room was right over the overhang and the lights from the hotel were bright. Would definitely pick a different room. The room was very clean and the shower was great. ( a must for me ) The breakfast was hot and very good. Clean area too. We walked to dinner ( Outback Steakhouse ). There was another steakhouse, Lonestar, right next door. There were plenty of places to eat. Over all, a great hotel. Only drawback was no in room safe.

Room Tip: stay away from the west side, 2nd floor near elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flipper13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLDES, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Valdosta West - Mall Area, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Valdosta and for your nice review. As you noted, we do not have safes in our room. However, on your next visit, please ask the front desk to store anything you need secured in our guest safe deposit box.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you again,
Ty O'Steen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have stayed here many times and have always enjoyed our stay. Friendly staff, clean, great breakfast and right off the freeway. Has everything I need and will stop again on our way back to FL in the fall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BARRY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLDES, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Valdosta West - Mall Area, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Barry,

Thank you for continuing to stay at our Holiday Inn Express and for your kind comments.

We look forward to seeing you in the Fall!

Sincerely,
Ty O'Steen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here on our way to florida from alabama and it was very nice and extremely convenient. It is located right off of the expressway. I am not sure how anyone could have a hard time finding it as it was right there on your right before you could get into the town even. This was our first stay at a holiday inn and it was a pleasant experience. We felt that we got our money's worth and what we expected. My only negative is that I requested a quiet room away from the interstate as other reviewers suggested and was given a room right next to the highway anyway. Everyone else in my party was unperturbed but I am a light-sensitive and lite sleeper so the amount of light visible at night under the curtains and the room door from the hallway made it hard for me to sleep well. The noise from the freeway was tolerable. Breakfast was quite acceptable and complimentary. We didn't get in it, but the pool area, though small, was well kept and clean. The water truly was heated beautifully as advertised. An overall nice stay.

Room Tip: If you don't want to be next to the interstate, ask for a room number below the twenties ( ex. 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCMC350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here one night on our return trip from Southern Florida. Despite the name (mall area) it is right on I-75. It is a very nice hotel and it seemed very new. We had a 2 queen suite and it was spacious, clean and equipped with a fridge, microwave, pod-style coffee maker, table, desk, sofabed, etc. Everything was very clean and in nice condition. Breakfast was the normal HIE fare and was well stocked and the breakfast area very clean. We didn't use the outdoor pool and hot tub, but it looked nice and clean too. Highly recommended property.

Room Tip: The 2-Queen Suite was perfect for our family of 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, IL
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We actually stayed at this hotel twice (once on the way down to Florida and again on the way back home). On our way back home from Florida (after our cruise), we stayed at this extremely well managed hotel. Upon checking in (both times), we found the room to have a spacious shower stall. If you have ever been on a cruise, you know to appreciate a large shower stall. The staff was warm, professional and welcoming. The rooms were very comfortable and quiet (2nd floor).

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor (both times). The rooms were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valdosta hotels
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Valdosta
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Valdosta
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Suites Valdosta Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Valdosta
Comfort Suites Valdosta
#7 of 33 in Valdosta
347 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Valdosta
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Valdosta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Valdosta West - Mall Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Valdosta West - Mall Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Valdosta West - Mall Area
Address: 1330 N Saint Augustine Rd, I-75 EXIT 18 & HWY 94 at Valdosta Mall, Valdosta, GA 31601-3536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Valdosta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Valdosta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Valdosta West - Mall Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Valdosta, GA is your home away from home. We invite you to experience the friendliness of our staff and greatness of a fine Valdosta hotel. We are also nearby historic downtown, Valdosta State University(VSU), Rainwater Conference Center, Moody Air Force Base and Valdosta Regional Airport. Close attractions include Wild Adventures, Valdosta Colonial Mall and area Cinemas. You ll find comfort and friendly hospitality at one of the most convenient locations in Valdosta. The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Valdosta Colonial Mall are waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Valdosta West - Mall Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Valdosta West - Mall Area
Holiday Inn Express Valdosta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing