We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Kakao

Kakao
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Tyrone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Cafe
Restaurant details
Sharpsburg, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We eat out a lot and I tend to only write reviews about restaurants that are great or those that are really bad and neglect the average places. This restaurant is definitely one of the great places!

We stopped there for breakfast and had coffee and a egg and chorizo burrito. The coffee and burrito were excellent. Admittedly, a simple meal but what really sets this place apart is the service. It is definitely a family affair and what a difference it is from the normal zombie-like service you are used to getting at an informal coffee shop / café.
Although the place was quite busy, service was prompt and all three of the family members who were working there that morning stopped by our table at least once to make sure everything was okay. Sheri and her daughter and son are so professional and friendly (and beautiful as well). It's so refreshing to know that a place appreciates your business. They run a first-class operation and we will be back often.
Make sure to try the churros! Wonderful!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tgsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    12
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must return!!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The churros are AMAZING! Super friendly staff and great dining room. The menu has all of the coffee shop staples AND a nice variety of breakfast and lunch items. Can't wait to go back to try the breakfast!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TastyPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place for a coffee break!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Excellent coffee with good depth of flavor, but not bitter. Scones were the perfect complement. Great atmosphere and service was very good. Nice change from the chain coffeehouses! Lunch menu looked interesting so will definitely give it a try.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gatos-Ricos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little locally owned coffee shop.”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Super friendly neighborhood cafe with good coffee and awesome churros. Also with good lunches, quality ingredients in hot sandwiches. Scones are also really good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 380ElizabethM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We'd seen this adorable coffee shop for a while and stopped in for breakfast for the first time this morning. We were very impressed. The restaurant is wonderfully clean and well-decorated. The young women taking orders at the counter were friendly and very helpful. The food was great. I had a bagel sandwich with egg, cheese, and bacon. It arrived piping hot and very tasty. The churros with chocolate and caramel dipping sauces were scrumptious--we ordered two more baskets! (The large came with six churros, about 10-inches each.) My husband had a cappuccino and said it was the "real thing." He's quite particular about his coffee and said it was excellent. (The drive-thru window seemed very busy!) We're delighted to see a restaurant in downtown Tyrone that is so well executed and thriving. We'll be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thrifty1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kakao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing