We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation Destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tybrisa at the Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Although this is our first time staying at Tybrisa we have been to Tybee Island before and like this property location. Located on the ocean directly behind the pier it is a perfect spot for enjoying the beach as well as the shops, restaurants and bars of the south beach area.

After reading a previous review about unit 312 we were a little concerned about what we would find when we arrived. We were relieved to find a clean, well appointed unit with everything we would need to spend a week in our home away from home. The kitchen has a full size oven, fridge, dishwasher, microwave and plenty of storage space with enough room to stock groceries for our family of four. With two growing boys (aged 14 and 11) we used the kitchen quite a bit during our stay to save some money instead of eating out every day. The kitchen was well supplied with enough utensils, pots, pans and other cook ware to serve our needs.

The pool area provides a nice alternative to the beach when we just wanted to relax with a drink and let the kids have fun in the water. The pool, as well as the surrounding deck area, looks new and must have been recently renovated. The pool-side bathrooms are extremely clean and convenient. Towels are provided at the pool so there is no need to bring them from the units. Tables and lounge chairs are kept clean and in good repair.

Located next to the pool is a grill area which provides access to three propane grills. These were extremely clean and were well maintained throughout our stay. Picnic tables located in the same area, as well as others in the playground directly behind, provide room for families to enjoy eating outdoors.

Parking was adequate and the secure lot with controlled access limited to registered guests ensured that our vehicle was safe. The outdoor areas were well lit at night and felt very safe.

The staff members with whom we had contact were friendly and helpful.

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the view from our third floor unit located directly in front of the pier. Unlike some of...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank trentgrad905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Tybrisa at the Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 126 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

1st Floor unit with great view of ocean. Felt some effects from tropical storm Debby but the nothing but blue skies for 5 days. This is a wonderful place to vacation. Pool is spacious and clean. Plenty of exterior showers for getting sand off, covered area for grilling (gas grills), workout centre well done, nice lounge for playing games ( pool / cards or TV), great security, and well kept grounds. Convenient shopping and restaurants. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for the remodelled room.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank denise a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

2nd floor unit offered excellent ocean view. Staff was always helpful ( needed a kettle, got it....needed a few extra balcony chairs, got it ). However being right in front of the pier and pavillion did provide a few negatives. Early morning coffee on the balcony would have been MUCH more enjoyable had the maintenance crew not arrived @ 6am each day for 1 to 2 hrs with their leaf blowers and fans to blow the sand away from the pavillion ( brooms don't work anymore ? ) . And on weekends you can expect the younger crowd to be on the beach and around the pavillion till all hours. Our bedroom was on the street side of the resort and we were still awaken by the partiers late into the night, got up at 4:30 am opened the patio door and they were still there! I guess the Tybee Island police were too busy with their speed traps to come patrol the beach area. As well we found the litter problem on the beach to be excessive with a ton of beer cans and bottles everywhere, a problem which might be helped with a little more patrolling? Overall we enjoyed the resort, the area,the shops and beach but it could have been top notch if not for the above mentioned problems.

Room Tip: The rooms further away from the pier will be quieter than those in front.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We have been going to the Tybrisa in January for many years. The weather can be unpredictable in January but the location right on the beach can't be beaten. And, there is usually only about 25% occupancy in January so it is quiet. This year (2012). it was in the 70's for about three weeks. We really enjoyed watching the ships and dolphins from the balcony. Daily walks on the beach are wonderful. The staff members have always been pleasant and very helpful. The facility is showing its age a little but most of the units have had a recent face-lift. The proximity to Savannah with many tourist attractions is also a plus. The Savannah Wildlife Sanctuary just over the border in SC is always worth seeing.

Room Tip: We like the "new" section (units 10 and above) and prefer level 2 or 3.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I recently stayed at Tybrisa for the first time. You can't beat the location, if you want to be located on the beach. My friends and I arrived late in the evening. (When you are told to call if you are going to be late, there is a good reason. The office isn't open late.) However, upon our arrival, we called the phone number listed on the reservation and a guy showed up to register us, without much of a wait. The apartment was pretty nice. I really liked the kitchen, the living room and the master bedroom. The second bedroom was fairly comfortable but not my favorite. The second bedroom had two twins, which is common, and no television -- still fairly common. My biggest problem with the 2nd bedroom is that there was a chair in the room with stains all over the cushion. For an apartment that was very clean otherwise, this was a disappointment. Additionally, the bedspreads were almost paper thin.

The common bathroom had a wonderfully large shower and a great washer/dryer combo unit. The full kitchen had everything in it a family would need. There were many more good things about this apartment than bad. Although I was there during a rain storm, the balcony was nice with a fantastic view of the beach. Additionally, parking was not a problem. Although I didn't use the pool during this stay, it looked adequate. I also noticed a slide and play area for the kids.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms have a beach view, so you don't have to worry about this matter when mak...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lvsportsnut028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

My husband and I have been going to Tybee and Tybrisa for 10 years- he has been going with his family for 25+ years. The great thing about Tybee is the slow paced, southern hospitality. Tybrisa is the only condo/timeshare located ON the beach. We love it so much we've purchased several weeks that we now own. Sure, the building is old and there are still more upgrades that could be done. However, over the years, updating has been initiated by the new management. These upgrades are paid for by owners like myself - therefore it isn't realistic to expect a drastic, rapid overhaul. Some of the reviews here are a bit harsh- do not expect a 5 star hotel, folks. It is a great value to rent a week here versus any other beachfront property around most of the country. With an open mind you will find that you love it here. We see the same people there year after year for a reason.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kndeicher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Tybrisa November 12-19, 2011. We chose Tybrisa as a result of swapping timeshare points through RCI. Reviews about the newly remodeled units sold us, but what a disappointment! The exterior grounds and facilities are nice and the unit was clean, but beyond that, everything about the interior of unit #312 was substandard except the new laminate floor. The bed was terrible, sitting on some sort of frame and sheetmetal facade that creaked and rattled with the slightest movement. The TVs are old and picture tubes are fading. Cupboards and cabinets are a joke, painting and carpentry looks like it was done by a kindergarten class... couldn't open the dishwasher without opening the silverware drawer (and vice versa). Speaking of silverware, imagine a childs play silverware set from the 1950's. We can't imagine what this place must have looked like before the 2-year "renovation". The most positive point of Tybrisa is ocean view from your porch, and the proximity to the ocean... and that's not enough to bring us back again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tybee Island hotels
1.3 mi away
Desoto Beach Hotel
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
1,165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
755 reviews
1.3 mi away
DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast
DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 8 in Tybee Island
204 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tybee Island Inn
Tybee Island Inn
#4 of 8 in Tybee Island
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tybrisa at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tybrisa at the Beach

Address: 15th St, Tybee Island, GA
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Tybee Island
Hotel Class:3 star — Tybrisa at the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tybrisa at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tybrisa At The Beach Hotel Tybee Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing