We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Grouper Sandwich!!!!”
Review of Sundae Cafe

Sundae Cafe
Ranked #1 of 55 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Incredible Grouper Sandwich!!!!”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

What can I say about the Sundae Cafe? First things first: Do not allow it's outside appearance fool you. We arrived at 2p for lunch and...it was packed to the gill. Yes, this was the first good sign. We were served by the most hysterical southern waitress, who showed me how to order a half-sweet tea in Georgia. :) She recommended the Grouper sandwich. It was *incredible* with ripe tomatoes and served on a delicious roll. It included a remaloude sauce that was...amazing. Finally, I ordered sweet potato fries with my sandwich. I expected the "norm" but these fries were *not* the norm. They were fresh (not "once frozen") and battered and deep fried and delicious. Yes. A wondrous place, indeed.

Helpful?
Thank Gail_Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,204
    278
    89
    20
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tybee Island, Ga
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best lunch value on the island”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This place is always packed for lunch and dinner. They have one of the best lunch values ever. You cant beat the food and the price for the lunch special. NEVER EVER had a bad meal here and even once craved their chicken salad sandwich coming out of surgery, ha ha. If your going for dinner I strongly suggest reservations. The food and service here are awesome and they make their own desserts which are delicious!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank marieregina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tybee Island, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A truly fine dining experience”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Small, cozy, informal in appearance and deceiving to put it mildly. I've dined at some of the first restaurants up and down the east coast and mid West. The Sundae Cafe is among the top. The food, quality, quantity, and presentation are second to none. Friends from Sanibel call every year to have me get them a reservation (generally required) when traveling this way. No inexpensive, but worth every dime.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tybee Island, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best gourmet food in Tybee Island”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

This is one of our favorite places for dinner. Make a reservation because it fills up fast. Great menu and bar selections. Nightly specials are always wonderful. If you can't get in for dinner go for lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgirls2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Glad We Found This Lovely Place”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Just happened to be walking by to see a small line out front. The staff were very friendly and made us feel so welcome. We were told to not bother reading the menu just come on in and eat with us. Glad we did. The atmosphere is very relaxing such as the decor, music and seating arrangements. The food was excellent as I had the Seared Tuna with Salad (delish).
We will definitely visit this place on our next trip down in June and July and we will save room for some of those homemade deserts. .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sundae Cafe also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Sundae Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing