We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Tybee”
Review of Sundae Cafe

Sundae Cafe
Ranked #1 of 55 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best of Tybee”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Lived up to the reviews. Awesome food, service, decor, wines. An oasis on Tybee.
Fabulous elk, filets, pistachio crusted ahi, scallops over lobster Mac. While a smidge short of the 'life changing' billing, certainly soul satisfying. Weakest dish was an oversized seafood cheesecake appetizer - big as an entree shared by four with leftover.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodie_queenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,173
    270
    83
    19
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ask Alex what to Order, Go for the Filet”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is a dining establishment that you don't judge by it's neighbors, tucked between a Gas Station and a Liquor Store, Sundae Cafe can be enjoyed every day of the week.

We did not intend to order a Filet but based on the recommendation of Alex we did. This is the Perfection of Filets, perfectly cooked, flavored, seasoned, and it was cut with very little effort from the butter knife, no steak knife required. We split the entree and it was perfect for two if you order two of their appetizers.

The starters were the Seafood Cheesecake and the Lobster Bisque. Again, highly recommended by Alex and worth every bite. The Bisque was again perfection and the cheesecake was truly excellent.

The desserts consisted of a slice of Reese, phenomenal, and the Coconut, also very good.

Their nightly specials are truly intriguing, an Elk Steak for example, will add a little out of town flavor to your plate if you decide to indulge.

The inside dining atmosphere and the service were superb. Ask Alex what to order that night and when in doubt, go for the Filet.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank HullLikeABoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville NC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

For our last evening, we booked Sundae. We found it to be an excellent "going away" treat.

The chefs are both JSW trained, the wait staff is very knowledgeable and professional in their delivery and the food was better than we experienced at one of the top ranked Savannah restaurants. We started with the seafood Quiche, had a lobster mac and pork chop for entrees (the bleu cheese bread pudding with the glazed pork chop was wonderful and even the succotash was different than any I had ever had) and finished with an excellent key lime pie. Portions are large, so we enjoyed the left-overs the next night...and they were still almost as good.
I'd make reservations. It's a popular local site for all the locals..

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fredfrogAshevilleNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
164 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Hidden little gem”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Excellent seafood, place doesn't look like much from outside. It's in a strip mall with a gas station. No parking. Metered at the street. Shrimp po-boy and crab sandwich. Both very good. Has a bar and lots of wine!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThePCGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We would never have found the Sundae Cafe had it not been for a friends recommendation. What a loss it would have been! The Sundae Cafe is in a little strip mall attached to a gas station. When you walk it in is a transformation to the cutest little cafe. They have specials every day and local seafood. The food was very good and the staff courteous and friendly. We had oysters, scallops and shrimp and were not dissappointed. Country fried steak and turkey dinner were some of the specials and while I didn't get to taste it, I could tell it was wonderful!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susank1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sundae Cafe also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Sundae Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing