We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bathhouses make this campground unacceptable.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tybee Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rivers End Campground and RV Park
Certificate of Excellence
ky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bathhouses make this campground unacceptable.”
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We recently camped here in tents. The campground has a nice location and pretty grounds. However, the bathhouse situation is awful. There are 9 unisex bathrooms that are rarely all working at the same time (one day only 5 were operating). The shower and toilet are together in the rooms; so when someone takes a shower,,the toilet is not available. (One morning I waited 15 minutes in the rain to use the toilet.)
The staff tries to keep the bathrooms clean, but the unisex use makes it futile. ON weekends, the campground is crowded and it is quite difficult to get an available bathhouse.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meemo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    71
    30
    15
    17
See reviews for
99
77
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ATL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Very convenient to Savannah. Campsites are very close together but good. Bathrooms are in a prefab style, but clean. We would go back again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USNAMOM06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2009

My family of four pitched two tents at River's Edge In early April. We booked at the last minute and recived the only site available. There was an exposed electical line running across the top of the ground on the side of our campsite. We had no choice but to put the tent over the line because the sites were too close together. Fortunately when we staked the tent we did not hit anything electrical. Those lines should have been in a conduit to protect campers. The bathhouses were awful. Unsanitary is an understatement!! Their are 8 bathrooms that each contain a shower stall, sink and toilet. I checked out 6 of them to try and find one that did not gross me out. All 6 stunk like urine. My husband checked the last two and they smelled bad or were worse. I will spare you his description of what the toilet was full of.... We left this campground as fast a we could....without brushhing our teeth or showering. None of us would set foot in the bathhouses by the morning hours. I should also mention the bathhouses are "unisex" meaning used by both men and women. I don't want to be opinionated here but this maybe part of the problem with the cleanliness. We heard a generator come on at about 8:30 am and a vacuum cleaner shortly thereafter. Dogs were around but only one was howling and yapping at inappropriate times. The place could be great with larger sites, paving the roads, fixing the electric lines and complely redesiging the bath house situation. The pool was cold, but pretty and clean. Campground location was very convenient and the only camping on the island. I would not stay here again until my suggestions above were completed.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TennTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2009

Rivers End Campground is a very nice campground. Reservations were made ahead of time and the staff helped in choosing the right spot according to your RV, trailer or tent size and needs. A staff member took you to your site. Almost all of the sites are shaded. The Savannah River Beach is 2 easy walking blocks away and the ocean beach is 3 blocks. Campfires are only allowed in designated areas. There is a camp store, laundry facilities, pool, pavillion room and social area. Bath houses although in need of updating were clean, warm and adequate. Staff are very friendly. While there, there was a tornado warning. The siren could be heard by everyone.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hargergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2007

When we arrived we were assisted in leveling up our camper by one of the staff. Upon raising the roof on our 3 year old pop up that we had only used 4 times before, the cable tangled and the top would not come back down. A call to the manufacturer, Jayco, left us on our own. The staff member loaned me tools and checked my progress and offered assistance several times until I got the problem repaired. We stayed an extra night after the break down nearly ruined the first day. We found the staff helpful and courteous. The grounds and facility were clean and well maintained. We will stay there again next year.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pirate_Ed_Lowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chickamauga, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2007

We stayed at River's End Campground because it was the only campground near the beach. The site we were assigned, was right at the edge of a gravel parking lot that backed up to a bunch of undergrowth. The site was right in the middle of the sun, so our AC had to run constantly. We could not sit outside because the mosquitos
and no see 'ums were so awful. The bathhouses were probably the biggest nightmare. They were downright disgusting! Their idea of cleaning them was to stand in the doorway and hose the whole bathroom
down. NO KIDDING! We stayed there for a week, and never once were the
toilets scrubbed. I picked up other people's garbage almost daily, and even hosed out one of the bathrooms myself one day, until I noticed they hid the hose! It was also so hot in them, that you felt better BEFORE you took a shower, you sweated so badly! The pool was NASTY as well. Would we stay here again? While it was very convenient
to the beach and Savannah, I would have to do some serious thinking! If our camper had its own bathroom, maybe. I am hoping that it was because we went at a time when the previous owners left and the town of Tybee was taking over. Still, in my book, if someone is going to pay the price, it ought to be kept clean. We still enjoyed Tybee greatly, and Savannah was just awesome! We weren't at the campground much at all!

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
11 Thank bikerdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
1.0 mi away
Desoto Beach Hotel
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
1,126 reviews
2.0 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
79 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
2.0 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
696 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tybee Island Inn
Tybee Island Inn
#4 of 8 in Tybee Island
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivers End Campground and RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivers End Campground and RV Park

Property: Rivers End Campground and RV Park
Address: 5 Fort Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Tybee Island
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River's End is Tybee Island's only campground. We are 3 blocks to the beach and 16 miles from historic Savannah. We offer campsites for tent campers, RV's and we have cabin rentals. See you under the oaks! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rivers End Campground And Rv Park Hotel Tybee Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing