We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience for yourself”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tybee Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rivers End Campground and RV Park
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Experience for yourself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

I was a little hesitant to book here reading the reviews but we had a great time. Sites are close together but everyone was SO friendly! Our camper was only 25 ft so we were fine. Pool was awesome and open till 10. Campground was surprisingly quiet and shady. We even got a spot on the pool end so we used those bathhouses and they were great. The only thing I found odd was it was 48 a night for two people... So we had to pay extra for our child...

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    67
    29
    14
    17
See reviews for
91
73
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

Just got home and wanted to share our experience tent camping. Way too many people are wedged into this campground. The primative area has one good site (you will find a photo from earlier this summer). Not every site gets a picnic table, no fire pits much less grills. Lots of people were drinking alcohol -- we had two grandsons and all but the youngest couldn't sleep because of the noise that continued until after 3 a.m. The next day someone came to talk to our obnoxious neighbors when we complained. You can't be this close together and behave like that. Without the pool I would rate "poor" instead of average. Warning: pool is in poor repair. Also pool rule #1 is no food or drink in pool area yet we saw about 10 adults drinking (beers mostly) in the pool. The beach within walking distance is fabulous so we enjoyed our visit but won't return.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank MaggieLJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WNC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

This is our favorite place in the world to go on family vacation. We love the small island and we bike everywhere. We are true life beach bums when we visit. But, unfortunately, the swamp fire in Florida (the Okefenokee Swamp) made the area smelly and and it was hard to breathe the air. The smoke is nearly unbearable. Had we known about this ahead of time (this should have been posted on the website) we would have cancelled and came another time. The campground refused any sort of compromise about staying a partial week and seeing if the smoke cleared. I am very disappointed that the office staff was so unhelpful and rude about the situation. Bad business.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBumWnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

First things first, I agree with some other reviews that the RV site of the camp looks like a zoo, with RV parked practically on top of each other (too tight). But the cabins and primitive tent site #101 (I got this one!) are perfectly located away from all that, surrounding a beautiful pool and palm trees. The pool water was perfect. The movie pavilion was right there too and there were great shows played on Friday and Saturday nights at 8 pm. They also have a cute bath house with great showers. We were surprised at having no grill at the camp site, but grilling is welcomed and there is a picnic table, so we ran to Wallmart and got a portable little grill (needed one anyway). The place is walking distance to a beach/ light house/ fort. Bring bikes!!! Must bring bikes!!! The island has a wonderful biking route (all marked with signs) that starts at the camp site and goes to Tybrisa Street where all the hotels and touristy stores are. If you have kids, eat at Crab Shack.
My son asked to camp there all summer, we all did not want to leave.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlwaysG0ing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

as a first time rv family we found river's end campground to be adequate for our needs. the sites are WAY too close together, so close that you have to talk softly in your own rv so the people next door dont hear you. slip # 26 is probably one of the worst spots there. bath houses are up to date and very nice, they have hand dryers and outlets. The people working there were helpful and mostly pleasant. the campground is very convenient to the lighthouse, fort pulaski and the beach, but quite a ride to savannah.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wannatravel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

The beaches two blocks away are deserted, great for a stroll. The campground itself is very crowded. 8 sites confined to a 40 foot area.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

We tent camped for the weekend. The tent sites were nice & large, and mostly level. Bathrooms are clean & maintained, although the bathhouse gets very hot & humid after showers. But at least the hot water was great!

This is a beautiful campground, full of old live oaks draped with Spanish moss. We loved our surroundings here, and being able to walk to the beach.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank liz954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
1.0 mi away
Desoto Beach Hotel
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
2.0 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
10.0 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tybee Island Inn
Tybee Island Inn
#4 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.5 mi away
Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivers End Campground and RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivers End Campground and RV Park

Property: Rivers End Campground and RV Park
Address: 5 Fort Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Tybee Island
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River's End is Tybee Island's only campground. We are 3 blocks to the beach and 16 miles from historic Savannah. We offer campsites for tent campers, RV's and we have cabin rentals. See you under the oaks! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rivers End Campground And Rv Park Hotel Tybee Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing