We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of MacElwee's Seafood

MacElwee's Seafood
Ranked #25 of 55 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Takeout
Covington, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I enjoyed a good meal at MacElwee's recently. There is not much in the way of atmosphere but the service is friendly and attentive, the food is good, and the prices are fairly reasonable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vgp95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    136
    96
    45
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andrews, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fried Shrimp”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very pleasant staff, although very busy with large table. The shrimp and slaw and hushpuppies were very good. Baked Potato seemed a little cold but all in all it was good and would definitely come back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Do NOT miss this place”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is quite possibly my new favorite restaurant on Tybee. The food was AMAZING, the staff were warm and friendly. Everyone from the bartender to the bus-boy made us feel like VIP. Prices were in line with the atmosphere and cuisine. I will definitely return on my next visit to Tybee

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great burgers!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is actually the first place I stopped. The restaurant has inside as well as outside seating. A friendly staff & be the looks of it does great business.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clyde M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Went twice so good”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great seafood. Extremely fresh!! I have been there before but I love it every time. They have daily specials plus their regular menu. There is also a small view of the ocean. Enjoy indoor or outdoor seating. It was a little windy so we ate inside. The servers are extremely friendly. I would not miss this place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacElwee's Seafood also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to MacElwee's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing