We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh Seafood!”
Review of MacElwee's Seafood

MacElwee's Seafood
Ranked #18 of 54 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlanta
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My family are big shrimp eaters, and we ordered the shrimp prepared in several ways, including bacon-wrapped, crab-stuffed shrimp; shrimp scampi; fried shrimp; and shrimp creole. It was all very fresh and tasty!

The service was excellent, with several servers checking on us frequently. Our server even recommended the cheaper way for beer (a pitcher instead of 3 individual glasses). Then, too, she stood up well to my FIL's relentless teasing (kudos to her, since it has taken me almost 20 years to get used to his teasing!).

Macelwee's was pretty much packed the entire time we were there...a sure-fire sign that a restaurant is good! I gave it four stars because it was pricey to me ($181 for 4 adults, 1 teen, and 2 children), but I am a stickler on price. I will return when on Tybee again, however; the food and service is that good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaMom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    135
    96
    43
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“excellent food and service”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Fried oysters and stuffed flounder were cooked perfectly. The crab soup was delectable and a house special. Service was excellent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank raffertysq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“D-licious”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We went there at around 1pm on Sunday and there was no one there. We thought maybe we had made a mistake. However, the food was awesome. We started with the crab stuffed mushrooms. No complaints at all. My husband had the fish dinner and I had steamed shrimp and crab legs. It was SO good. Now I'm craving a return visit. I thought it was slightly more expensive than other Tybee restaurants, but not extremely so. I'd highly recommend this place. Our waitress was great and attentive, although she didn't really have anyone else to worry about.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JONEWATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Have been here before for seafood,decided to try a steak,best steak ever at beach. Was scared to try a steak at first because of bad experience at Fannies......bad steak and they just did not care. Bad service and food at Fannies all around.........MacElwees made up for it 100%!!!!!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cherokeerebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great local eatery!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

To me, service is as important as the food... And this place was great with both... Friendly staff that was personable with prompt attention and good food in a comfortable environment.. What more could you want? My only negative comment would be I wish the menu was a little deeper for non-seafood people, or perhaps, offer more options that don't include frying all of the seafood... But, it's a restaurant near the beach in the south, so it's to be expected. My family loved their seafood and I loved my burger.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZacharyKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacElwee's Seafood also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to MacElwee's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing