We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible fried seafood”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of MacElwee's Seafood

MacElwee's Seafood
Ranked #18 of 54 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Clarkston, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible fried seafood”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

The fried seafood in this place was terrible. I can't believe I travelled all the way to the Georgia coast to eat seafood this bad.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joseph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    134
    94
    43
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grayson, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“yummy delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Fresh Seafood with a family vibe. Myke and Angel we simply can't thank you enough. This was our second time eatting at the restaurant and your customer service is a gem! From the moment you walk in until you leave they treat you like family. The food is amazing especially the Crab Soup and the fried strawberries. They even changed the telly for the hubs to watch football. Get the fried platter and share. thanks for another amazing post race meal!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank igitcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best seafood on Island!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had not tried it because we wanted to be on the water. Once we did the view no longer mattered. The food was great, the service was fun and attentive. I had the crab stew almost every place that offered it. MacElwee's was by far the best! The house wines were good and great price too.

Helpful?
Thank mgskh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson s Station, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really wanted to like this...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Very average with questionable service. Not very consistent. They were unable to get beer taps to work, and did not bother to try. Overpriced average food. Poorly understaffed. You can really do so much better on the island. Go to Sting Rays. They never disappoint. Sorry we stopped in.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon, Tennessee
1 review
“Good food and friendly service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We really enjoyed our meal. The grouper was so yummy and the grilled veggies were prepared to perfection. Topped off our meal with fried strawberries that were fabulous!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacElwee's Seafood also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to MacElwee's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing