We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks are deceiving” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of A-J's Dockside Restaurant

A-J's Dockside Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 54 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Port Wentworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Looks are deceiving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

AJ's Dockside's location on Tybee Island is away from the main street thoroughfare and nestled in a quiet corner of the island where you get a spectacular view of the water and gorgeous evening sunsets. The front outside entrance has a "funkier" retro beach theme and then you are transformed to the back outside seating area on the dock where the ambience is absolutely perfect for enjoying your meal. The food is reasonably priced for the large portions you get and everything tasted good. The service was attentive, friendly, and good. We would love to go back and try their brunch specials on Sunday. There is something for everyone on their menu and we would definitely go back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    481
    181
    70
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, USA
1 review
“Enjoy AJ's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is one of the funkier and better restaurants on Tybee Island, GA. The food is good, the location spectacular and the prices reasonable.


Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Parker D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Cove, North Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great View Along with Good Food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We arrived about 5:00, we greeted promptly and sat out on the dock. The waitress was very friendly and knowledgably and did a terrific job. We ordered the buffalo shrimp as an appetizer and they were very good and perfectly cooked with a great sauce. We also had a pound of steamed shrimp which were tender and sweet but did not have much spice. We also had the grilled mahi which appeared to have been broiled instead, was watery, and did not have much flavor. The red skin mashed potatoes and asparagus were both very good. All in all, a very good dinner and we would certainly go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennettsville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Second visit was really good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

The food was good. The service was good, and the atmosphere were really good. I'm glad I went back for a second visit. Next time, it will be the first choice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BRENDAK M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

we visited tybee island end of august 2013, while we were staying in savannah. heard about the great food, and the beautiful sunset at AJs. very much lived up to the hipe. the food was good, fresh and the portions were huge, had a "great time".

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A-J's Dockside Restaurant also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to A-J's Dockside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing