We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty and expensive . . . a real disappointment.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of A-J's Dockside Restaurant

A-J's Dockside Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 54 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dirty and expensive . . . a real disappointment.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was the first place we ate when we got to the island because of the great reviews on tripadvisor. However, this place is really not worth the price. Which are high compared to the amount of food and quality. Cole slaw was warm and blackened fish was over cooked and room temperature. Fries were soggy and the artichoke and spinach dip was mostly mayonaise. Don't bother, but if you do, don't expect great service or very good food. A real disappointment.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank teacher306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    478
    181
    70
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grayson, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Don't waste your time.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

Positives:
-Pleasant, friendly staff.
-Nice sunset view of the river.
Negatives:
-No parking.
-Dark, dingy, dirty.
-45 minutes to get a table and another 45 minutes to get our order.
-Highly overpriced for the quality of the food.
Summary:
Don't waste your time with AJ's. There are plenty of better places on Tybee.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesse1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Do not eat here!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

Parking is terrible, my hush puppy had a hair coiled up inside of it and the food is over priced! If you want a sunset view and to have drinks then go for it, but avoid the food!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgiatravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best seafood on Tybee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

Second year going to Tybee for vacation, ate at AJ's again, still the best seafood on the island. Plenty of food, cooked right and a good vaalue considering your on a small vacation island. Will go again next year when we go back. Lines can get lng, so get there early or enjoy a great dring while you wait.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sderonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Wisconsin
1 review
“Best on Tybee Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

We came in on friday night about 7:00 and were seated right away. The waitress was very nice and prompt with everything. We sat outside with a beutifull view of the sunset. The food was great. I had AJs Gumbo wich was awsome, it had the right amount of spice to add flavor but not leave your mouth burning. It also had big shrimp, a good amount of chicken, okra, and some sausage. My wife had the fried flounder and scallops wich was also very good. For desert there was a tastey chocolate mouse pie. This was our favorite spot on Tybee out of the three we ate at. #1 AJs, #2 Crab Shack, #3 MacElwee's

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Puphunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A-J's Dockside Restaurant also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to A-J's Dockside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing