We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dinner on the island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of StingRay's on Tybee

StingRay's on Tybee
14th St & Butler Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328
912 786 0209
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 52 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Midlothian, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best dinner on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Wow! The food was outstanding because of the quality, portion sizes and deliciousness.
The crab was to die for. It was fresh and tasty.
I ordered the shirmp/crab basket and my husband got the everything basket with crab, shirmp, crawfish & mussels. Every bite was perfect.

Our young son (6 y/o) enjoyed the shrimp and hush puppies.

It is very casual. Everything is served on disposable plates or baskets. The mixed drinks were a little lite on the good stuff but when we asked the waiter to dress it up he made sure we were taken care of.
Come in your flip flops with a empty stomach ready to relax and eat. The live music completes the beach vibe.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Abbabah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Iowa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Poor service, long waits”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Went here and waited 40 minutes (quoted a 30 minute wait time). After 40 minutes of waiting in the cold rain, we tried to order to go...the manager said we could, but the bar still wouldn't let us. We left and will not be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank coolmacdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metro Atlanta
Level Contributor
125 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Listen to the Locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

I asked a Tybee Lighthouse employee where to go for seafood, and he sent me to StingRay's. I'm glad he did - for lunch, I had the Fish Plate: two good-sized, lightly battered fish fillets with cole slaw, hush puppies, fries. The fish was light and delicious. Generous portion - certainly more than I was expecting for the price. Friendly staff, easy to find location.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ladytez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food! Nasty bathrooms :-(”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Went there twice while on Tybee. Got the platter that was 1/2 shrimp and 1/2 crablegs. It was delicious as always!! Disappointed the first night as the waitress was too busy to get my drink order right or check to see how we were doing. The waiter the second night rocked!! We have been going here for years and the food is always good but the bathrooms!!! They are beyond disgusting!! I try not to go while I'm there. They have been nasty for years and you think they could do something about it. The seating outside is the way to go and the fans help keep it cool. There was a guy singing when we were there and he was good but could have done without the drunk guy at the next table. Worth going for the food- just don't go to the bathroom.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Atmosphere and Great Music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a pretty popular place so come early or don't be too hungry when you get there because you will be in line to get a table...but it is definitely worth the wait. Lawn chairs are provided so you can sit outside and enjoy the music while waiting...go in to the bar and get a drink and relax outside like we did. Susan who sat us was very personable and helped me pick out a Stingray's shirt! Can't wait to go back!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed StingRay's on Tybee also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to StingRay's on Tybee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing