We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Listen to the Locals” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of StingRay's on Tybee

StingRay's on Tybee
Ranked #10 of 53 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
metro Atlanta
Level Contributor
127 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Listen to the Locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

I asked a Tybee Lighthouse employee where to go for seafood, and he sent me to StingRay's. I'm glad he did - for lunch, I had the Fish Plate: two good-sized, lightly battered fish fillets with cole slaw, hush puppies, fries. The fish was light and delicious. Generous portion - certainly more than I was expecting for the price. Friendly staff, easy to find location.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ladytez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    608
    482
    238
    104
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food! Nasty bathrooms :-(”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Went there twice while on Tybee. Got the platter that was 1/2 shrimp and 1/2 crablegs. It was delicious as always!! Disappointed the first night as the waitress was too busy to get my drink order right or check to see how we were doing. The waiter the second night rocked!! We have been going here for years and the food is always good but the bathrooms!!! They are beyond disgusting!! I try not to go while I'm there. They have been nasty for years and you think they could do something about it. The seating outside is the way to go and the fans help keep it cool. There was a guy singing when we were there and he was good but could have done without the drunk guy at the next table. Worth going for the food- just don't go to the bathroom.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Atmosphere and Great Music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a pretty popular place so come early or don't be too hungry when you get there because you will be in line to get a table...but it is definitely worth the wait. Lawn chairs are provided so you can sit outside and enjoy the music while waiting...go in to the bar and get a drink and relax outside like we did. Susan who sat us was very personable and helped me pick out a Stingray's shirt! Can't wait to go back!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not impressed; rowdy kids; BAD restrooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Very busy place on Tybee. The staff was not very friendly, and seemed to be to busy to point anyone in the direction of a bathroom. Kids were running wild all over the place. Once seated, our waitress messed 3 of 5 orders up. The food was great but staff attitude was too much for me. My first and last time. P.S. The restrooms were horrible.

Helpful?
Thank estonecipher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Kentucky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hot But Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

If you can take the heat, eat here. It was extremely hot in July but the food is wonderful. Get the fish tacos. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank CarlaTreadway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed StingRay's on Tybee also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to StingRay's on Tybee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing