We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great shellfish-Excellent Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of StingRay's on Tybee

StingRay's on Tybee
Ranked #10 of 52 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Denver, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great shellfish-Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just got back from our second wonderful trip to Tybee Island, My husband and I always start our first night with dinner at StingRay's. The margueritas were fabulous, as always. We both had oysters on the half-shell, which were good not wonderful. Then for entree we had crab legs, which were wonderful. Very plentiful portion and done to perfection. Our waitress was great and attentive. Will definitely be spending our next first night in Tybee at StingRay's

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    429
    218
    97
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Augusta, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Ambiance isnt much to look at, but the food is really great! The scallops are soooo tender, they melt in your mouth. The shrimp are cooked to perfection! We tell everyone to eat there, and have never had a bad visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great beach pub fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

This was my third visit & we were visiting during pirate fest. Live music was nice as we sat on the patio. GA game inside & folks way too loud! I ordered steamed oysters & the kids fried shrimp meal. The oysters weren't very tasty & had the taste & smell of dishwater. But my shrimp meal was great! Very lightly battered, loved the hushpuppies & the fries were good too! The kids meal was plenty of food for an adult & a great value. I'd go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank galily71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

live music, good food, fair pricing. You have to option to sit inside, or outside on a patio.
Because the food is made fresh, there is a long wait so don't go here if you're in a hurry. (it was worth it though!)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, North Carolina
Level Contributor
186 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Touristy but enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Walked to this place and then got stuck under the canopy cover during a huge downpour mixed w/ occasional lightning. Wait went from 12 mns to 45. Spent the time laughing w/ the other trapped ppl and making the best of a situation. Not exactly safe but hey, we made friends, close friends ! Moved to the bar area once ppl cleared out. Finally got a table. Ordered steamed oysters but my Alaskan crab legs were way too over cooked.. Oh well. Drinks were pretty good, also ordered fried flounder plate. Watched the games and almost a bar fight. Good times! Oh and in case mgt reads this, you had a visitor on the banisters, might wanna ask your wait staff as we told 3 of them , just FYI didn't affect our visit.

Helpful?
Thank gingerflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed StingRay's on Tybee also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to StingRay's on Tybee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing