We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent restaurant”
Review of Dolphin Reef Restaurant - CLOSED

Dolphin Reef Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Located Oceanfront at 15th Street inside Ocean Plaza Beach Resort
Description: You are invited to dine at the Dolphin Reef Oceanfront Restaurant & Bar where you can enjoy a breathtaking view of the Atlantic Ocean and nearby sandy beaches. Dolphin Reef features a flavorful fusion of American and Southern cuisines with an emphasis on fresh seafood, all presented in a unique underwater themed environment to make your dining experience memorable. Located in the Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, we are open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. We are also Tybee Island's premier banquet and special event facility. Come to Dolphin Reef where the only thing more spectacular than our food is the view. Tour groups are welcome, and we offer a kid's menu. Advance reservations are requested for groups of 8 or more people. Dolphin Reef is located 20 minutes East of Savannah, Georgia on U.S. Highway 80. Parking is free. Be sure to park inside Ocean Plaza Resort's parking lot.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A decent restaurant”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The food is average. Not really worth the prices they charge. The waiter was a bit unpleasant. He wasn't outright rude but he certainly did not go out of his way to be helpful. The view was amazing and the cocktails were very good. Overall a fairly decent place for dinner on Tybee

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lolabubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    37
    40
    37
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Don't go”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

No flavor. Waste of calories. I order a salad with my meal and it never came.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Qball1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“you're better off going to arby's”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Slowest service, overpriced for bad food. Server kept forgetting what we ordered. Really, don't bother, there's much better places. Disappointed that I wasted my money here.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cassdra69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville,CA
1 review
“Exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We headed out of Savannah originally to the Crab Shack. But upon discovering that this restaurant is a favorite but not on the beach my girlfriend and I headed on to the beach area on Tybee Island and discovered the Dolphin Reef and were thrilled we did. The parking was free, the employees nice and attentive, the glass elevator ride to the 3rd floor restaurant was a delight and the view was spectacular of the beach area! The hostess was friendly, the waitress was attentive and the server was timely.

My girlfiriend had grilled swordfish, garden salad, and fruit coleslaw and enjoyed every bite. I had the Admirals platter featuring crabmeat and shrimp in an alfredo sauce over fettucine and even tho I didn't taste much crab I thoroughly enjoyed it. The garden salad was fine and the 99cent loaded potato was okay and even tho I was charged $3.99 for that potato we were so happy with the view, the food overall, and the service we didn't bother complaining. To be the only restaurant on Tybee Island wih this kind of view in a charming ocean themed room with cool aqua colors was delightful. Kids would love this view and the charming painted murals and the menu has a great selection of reasonably priced items for all. The Admirals platter was only $16, Swordfish $18, and the desserts of Peach Cobler alamode which was $6 and the Key Lime pie which was just $5 were a perfect ending to a perfect meal. Afterwards enjoy your stroll on the beach, we did and won't forget this perfect Thursday night dinner date for 2 old folgies in their 50's!!! Go and Enjoy, highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rctn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Go during the week”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We had a great time. The view was nice, but the 3rd floor was closed, so we did not get the view we expected. The food was fresh, and hot, and exactly as we ordered it. The service was great at first, but left a little to be desired when business picked up. Went a little while with dirty dishes and empty glasses. But we had an anniversary dinner, that was a success.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jpowelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Reef Restaurant also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing