We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fun Experience - Pricey Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Breakfast Club

The Breakfast Club
Ranked #7 of 53 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun Experience - Pricey Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Based on what we read and researched, my family and I made a point to stop here during our recent vacation on Tybee. We got up early that morning, and rode our bikes down to be there at opening. There was just one person waiting, so we got right in. We sat at the counter to watch the cooking. The staff was friendly enough - no complaints. They refilled our coffee and water many times without our having to ask...that's a plus! The breakfast menu was fairly extensive - but be warned it's on the pricey side for breakfast. Our various omelets and breakfast items arrived and were very tasty, and the portions were large. All in all, we had a great time and would go back the next time we're on Tybee!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pitt_Guy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    589
    311
    152
    61
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really great food worth waiting for.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a really great restaurant. I recommend the Windjammer - hash browns with the works! I sat at the counter and watched the food being prepared. Good, real ingredients prepared well. The service was friendly and efficient. I believe the waits come from the small kitchen - two flat tops that became full while tables were empty. I did not mind, this was great food. I will go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank West90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannah
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“always worth a wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

extraordinary diner w seafood flair generous portions ive liked "Helen's Solidarity" and "Dueling Fishies"

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank shmuelSavannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No soup for you!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Quirkiness gone wrong. They make you wait outside to be seated (even while it's raining). We got there right as it opened and still had to wait about 10 min. to get a table even though there were only 2 people ahead of us. I think years of being the only breakfast game in town has caused their once quirky/quaint servers to become rude, flippant and slow. Food was barely passable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JanetBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Chicago Bear Burger/super cool people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I believe that this menu item certainly deserves the title of best burger in Savannah, although this is the only place I have had one here while on vacation.

One huge plus is that you see it prepared right in front of you if you sit at the counter, which I was told upon entering that is the only seating that was available (good sign that they are doing something right!). Oh, by the way, you don't enter from the front, but from the side. Apparently, you also have to wait for them to let you in this side door, so that's different but not at all in a bad way. The aspect of teamwork is definitely existent among the grill cooks, which results in efficient preparation and service.

Another rave I have is the fresh baked bun. That speaks for itself, in my opinion. I didn't get creative with any grilled onions, mushrooms, bacon, et cetera, but this was a fantastic burger with simply the lettuce, pickle, and ketchup they brought out. As an alternative to simple french fries, I received a generous portion grilled potato slices on the side.

Everyone here has a great sense of hospitality. I was asked by two guys on the grill what I wanted on the burger, other than what already comes on it. After my response of "just the way you make it," one of them jokingly stated that he was probably going to ask me three more times. Another brought out my food and said they would be walking back and forth, and to let them know if I needed anything. Two asked how my food was, and as you can tell, I had to say it was very good. Thank you for being so welcoming on my first visit to this conveniently located restaurant in relation to the Howard Johnson directly across the street. Worth all $12.95 plus tax, and will be on my mind even if not staying this close to The Breakfast Club.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tiw0000000092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Breakfast Club also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to The Breakfast Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing