We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect beachside restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spanky's Beachside

Spanky's Beachside
Ranked #14 of 52 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Philly
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“the perfect beachside restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Spanky's is several steps up (and literally, a few blocks down) from your regular beachside grill. They do not turn their noses up at clientele clad in beach cover-ups and the staff is friendly and efficient. They serve exactly what you're in the mood for and would expect at a beach: sandwiches, fried chicken and fish, smoothies, etc. Everyone at our table was pleased with their order. I ordered the fried grouper and my husband tried the spuds (batter-fried potatoes). The fried foods were clearly made to order and not sitting under a heat lamp all day, as they are at many beachside grills. I would definitely recommend Spanky's for a welcome air-conditioned respite from the midday Georgia sun.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 3ees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    132
    82
    17
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good spot for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Great place to come in and cool off from the beach with a drink an some lunch. Spuds are great! Chicken never disappoints. Drinks are great!! It was nice to come in and no one cares you are all sandy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AllieMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Chicken Fingers Not As Good As I Once Thought Them To Be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I lived in Savannah for six years during the the mid 90's; I used to believe Spanky's had some of the best chicken fingers one could find. Well, I happened to eat in the facility on River Street recently and must attest I was disappointed in their chicken fingers. It is not the fingers are not good; I am just of the opinion now the chicken fingers I acquire in Augusta, GA at Zaxby's & the Village Deli are much better. However, the Spanky Spuds (extra crispy) were great. My wife did enjoy the Fish & Chips; although, there were no chips within it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chicken Fingers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Ate twice while staying on Tybee and as is one of their signature dishes the chicken fingers must be ordered. Wait staff was friendly and engaging and very patient with a neighboring, slightly intoxicated, table of guys I must say.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KouponKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
72 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Quesadillas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Pretty good restaurant. The quesadillas were very good! It's a nice atmosphere, and i would recommend it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spanky's Beachside also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Spanky's Beachside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing