We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, Unique, Delicious”
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
Ranked #5 of 55 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Crab Shack isn't just a restaurant, it's a destination! We seat more than 700 guests and offer both indoor and outdoor dining options. Both dining rooms and our outdoor dining deck offer picturesque views of Chimney Creek. Both the young and young-at-heart will enjoy our interactive, educational "Gator Lagoon" which is home to 78 baby alligators; our aviary which is home to more than a dozen rescued exotic birds, and our "Gift Shack". The Crab Shack offers traditional Low Country fare, including fresh streamed and boiled seafood and slow-cooked BBQ. We also have a kid's menu available with burgers, hot dogs, and pizza. The Crab Shack is and always has been a family owned business, and recently began shipping our entrees in ready-to-be-cooked kits through LoCo To Go. Stop by and experience all we have to offer for yourself!
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun, Unique, Delicious”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Loved everything about this place! What a fun experience for our 3 boys. They loved feeding the live alligators and my oldest was a boss at cracking some crab legs. The combination platter for 2 was plenty for all of us (3 kids, 2 adults). Service was great. This place was packed even on a weekday evening. Totally worth it though.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,157
    1,219
    554
    236
    236
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Obsessed!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

This was my second time visiting The Crab Shack, but my first visit was back in high school so coming back was such a delight! I'd forgotten how much fun this place was! My mother, sister, and I came to the Crab Shack to eat our last meal before heading home from a Ladies' Weekend and it was perfect!
First of all, the food was delicious. My sister got the shrimp lunch special, my mother got the BBQ pork, and I got the Half & Half crab legs and shrimp. We were all very pleased with our food!
The atmosphere really is the added bonus to this restaurant. It's right on the water so the view is awesome. Then, as if the food and the view weren't enough, there is a gator enclosure you can look into, tons of silly photo ops, cats wandering the property looking to be pet, and a Bird Shack where parrots will talk to you!
I would recommend this to anyone visiting Savannah/Tybee Island!

Helpful?
Thank StarryEyedStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great, come as you are dining!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Although it was hard for me to overlook the cats wandering around the dining area, the paper plates & plastic utensils, the atmosphere was fun & unique. My boys (ages9-14) really enjoyed eating outside under the trees and misting fans. Feeding the gators was the highlight, for sure! The food was good, we had boiled shrimp & crab legs--nothing to write home about. It's all about the unique atmosphere here!

Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere. Worst Restrooms”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were seated within 30 minutes. It was a party of 15 and a Saturday night. We were all surprised how quickly we were seated. The alligator attraction kept the kids occupied for the short wait. The food is always good. We are locals in the area and go about once a year. Our memories quickly fade of how poor the bar service is (often understaffed) and just how bad the restrooms always are. There are three bars; two are often very busy and three sets of restrooms. One for the ladies doesn't have a full door going in and has a curtain for a door for the each stall. There is often a line for the restrooms. Every time we have been the restrooms on the main deck are trashed with toilet paper covering the floor and a awful odor. We enjoy the food always and the atmosphere is outstanding but do not know if that out weighs the cons.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Four Oaks, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An experience...”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

There is much to do when visiting the Crab Shack-alligator fishing, pier walking, drink at the bar, and visit the gift shop or bird area during a short wait for your table, they will text you when it is time to be seated. Waitstaff was great and sinks around to wash up after peeling shrimp or cracking crab legs. The only drawbacks were long wait time to receive order, but they were busy, mosquitoes, and a little cleanliness concern, but overall, a good experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing