We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“casual and fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
Ranked #4 of 53 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, American, Seafood, Soups, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Crab Shack isn't just a restaurant, it's a destination! We seat more than 700 guests and offer both indoor and outdoor dining options. Both dining rooms and our outdoor dining deck offer picturesque views of Chimney Creek. Both the young and young-at-heart will enjoy our interactive, educational "Gator Lagoon" which is home to 78 baby alligators; our aviary which is home to more than a dozen rescued exotic birds, and our "Gift Shack". The Crab Shack offers traditional Low Country fare, including fresh streamed and boiled seafood and slow-cooked BBQ. We also have a kid's menu available with burgers, hot dogs, and pizza. The Crab Shack is and always has been a family owned business, and recently began shipping our entrees in ready-to-be-cooked kits through LoCo To Go. Stop by and experience all we have to offer for yourself!
st pete
Level Contributor
176 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“casual and fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This place is casual and fun. This is NOT a high-end seafood restaurant. You'll be using paper towels, not linen napkins. You'll have a garbage can under your table. There will be alligators in the adjoining areas. There may be flies and gnats. You'll park in a dusty parking area. The outdoor area may smell a little marshy. I loved it! The service was friendly and efficient, the food was good and the atmostphere was no surprise. We had the sampler and it had a little bit of everything. It didn't knock my socks off, but it was an enjoyable evening. You'll not walk away hungry.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StPeteRaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,942 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,853
    1,122
    518
    220
    229
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great meal for the price. Had the sampler for two. Never thought that we could eat so much seafood at one time. But then it was gone. Hardly any room for dessert.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Troye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethton, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Good atmosphere, good seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

There are lots of places to take pictures so bring a camera. We chose to sit outside on the patio, but they also have indoor seating. My daughter and husband loved the crab legs. My husband also loved the boiled shrimp. I got the barbecue chicken, but there wasn't any barbecue sauce on the chicken. You had to add your own and they only had a mustard based BBQ sauce. Otherwise, the chicken was ok. The corn is delicious. There are cats that roam around on the patio (which didn't bother us, but could be an issue for some folks). Casual dining.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So good we went back the next day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had the platter and it was a lot of food, all freshly steamed. We chose to eat outside and it was a little chilly so our waitress lit a heater so we'd be comfortable. The service was great. It was so good we went back the next day for lunch. If you don't like seafood the choices are limited and nothing is fried.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst service a food ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Took a visiting family to eat here because we had heard good things about it. The restaurant surroundings are nice, but when it came to the menu, service and food it was below a 1 rating. After everyone got their food well everyone except my wife we ask the waitress to see what was going on. 55 minutes later still no food. I ask 3 times to speak with a manager with no luck. Finally found 3 waitresses laughing and confronted them demanding to speak with a manager. Had to go into a shut off area where I finally found manager. She was extremely rude and thought it was funny my wife waited over an hour after our dinner was served and still did not have food. Will never go back and will tell the world what a horrible place and experience this was.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkM7399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing