We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good atmosphere, good seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
Ranked #6 of 52 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Crab Shack isn't just a restaurant, it's a destination! We seat more than 700 guests and offer both indoor and outdoor dining options. Both dining rooms and our outdoor dining deck offer picturesque views of Chimney Creek. Both the young and young-at-heart will enjoy our interactive, educational "Gator Lagoon" which is home to 78 baby alligators; our aviary which is home to more than a dozen rescued exotic birds, and our "Gift Shack". The Crab Shack offers traditional Low Country fare, including fresh streamed and boiled seafood and slow-cooked BBQ. We also have a kid's menu available with burgers, hot dogs, and pizza. The Crab Shack is and always has been a family owned business, and recently began shipping our entrees in ready-to-be-cooked kits through LoCo To Go. Stop by and experience all we have to offer for yourself!
Elizabethton, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Good atmosphere, good seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

There are lots of places to take pictures so bring a camera. We chose to sit outside on the patio, but they also have indoor seating. My daughter and husband loved the crab legs. My husband also loved the boiled shrimp. I got the barbecue chicken, but there wasn't any barbecue sauce on the chicken. You had to add your own and they only had a mustard based BBQ sauce. Otherwise, the chicken was ok. The corn is delicious. There are cats that roam around on the patio (which didn't bother us, but could be an issue for some folks). Casual dining.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,790
    1,096
    509
    217
    227
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So good we went back the next day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had the platter and it was a lot of food, all freshly steamed. We chose to eat outside and it was a little chilly so our waitress lit a heater so we'd be comfortable. The service was great. It was so good we went back the next day for lunch. If you don't like seafood the choices are limited and nothing is fried.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst service a food ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Took a visiting family to eat here because we had heard good things about it. The restaurant surroundings are nice, but when it came to the menu, service and food it was below a 1 rating. After everyone got their food well everyone except my wife we ask the waitress to see what was going on. 55 minutes later still no food. I ask 3 times to speak with a manager with no luck. Finally found 3 waitresses laughing and confronted them demanding to speak with a manager. Had to go into a shut off area where I finally found manager. She was extremely rude and thought it was funny my wife waited over an hour after our dinner was served and still did not have food. Will never go back and will tell the world what a horrible place and experience this was.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkM7399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The food is good but the atmosphere is circus like and the sand gnats are a real problem. We won't be going back but it is entertaining and I think kids would really enjoy all the extras.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank crawfordcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Casual Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

"Where the elite eat in their bare feet"
This description is exactly what the Crab Shack is.
Nothing fried on this menu, so that may be something to consider when choosing a restaurant.
But, if you love steamed shrimp, crab legs and crawfish - corn on the cob/sausage, potatoes, onions. This is a fabulous low country boil laid out on one big platter, in the middle of the table - Family Style. Can't be beat.
Love this place and have been here several times when visiting Tybee Island/ Savannah, GA

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing