We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok to eat with your fingers”
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
Ranked #5 of 55 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Crab Shack isn't just a restaurant, it's a destination! We seat more than 700 guests and offer both indoor and outdoor dining options. Both dining rooms and our outdoor dining deck offer picturesque views of Chimney Creek. Both the young and young-at-heart will enjoy our interactive, educational "Gator Lagoon" which is home to 78 baby alligators; our aviary which is home to more than a dozen rescued exotic birds, and our "Gift Shack". The Crab Shack offers traditional Low Country fare, including fresh streamed and boiled seafood and slow-cooked BBQ. We also have a kid's menu available with burgers, hot dogs, and pizza. The Crab Shack is and always has been a family owned business, and recently began shipping our entrees in ready-to-be-cooked kits through LoCo To Go. Stop by and experience all we have to offer for yourself!
Loudon, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It's ok to eat with your fingers”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

This was the first time eating here but it won't be the last!! My family and I got one of the sampler platters and oh it was so very very good. The seafood was so delicious. Great place

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank immie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,271
    1,261
    571
    242
    237
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food and a lot of it...”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Loved the low country boil which included crawfish, 2 kinds of crab, peel and eat shrimp, mussels, corn, and potatoes. Two of us shared and there was enough for the granddaughter too. The grandkids enjoyed feeding the alligators and then going in the tropical bird house/gift shop after we ate. It was all very entertaining! The only negative thing is that is was terribly hot eating outside and not much cooler inside. Sara was our waitress and she was great!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidalia, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Messy and happy”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

If you are traveling through or vacationing on Tybee Island or Savannah this is one restaurant you do not want to miss. Fantastic seafood and wonderful casual atmosphere. We will drive 2 hours to eat here. Enjoyed yet another great seafood dinner!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“We Miss the Old Crab Shack”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Not long ago when you went to the Crab Shack you could have anything you wanted to eat as long as it was CRAB! Now, with Chili/Cheese Dogs added to a rather bland menu, you'll find that you too miss the old Crab Shack.

Two suggestions - Look at one of the older menus and get rid of the cats in the dining area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RideHigh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dont do it!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Dont get sucked in by the advertisements!!!!!! The place smells like nasty swamp animals and the food is NOT a good representation of what Savannah/Tybee/Local food is. Dont do it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melody O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing