We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place”
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
Ranked #5 of 55 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Crab Shack isn't just a restaurant, it's a destination! We seat more than 700 guests and offer both indoor and outdoor dining options. Both dining rooms and our outdoor dining deck offer picturesque views of Chimney Creek. Both the young and young-at-heart will enjoy our interactive, educational "Gator Lagoon" which is home to 78 baby alligators; our aviary which is home to more than a dozen rescued exotic birds, and our "Gift Shack". The Crab Shack offers traditional Low Country fare, including fresh streamed and boiled seafood and slow-cooked BBQ. We also have a kid's menu available with burgers, hot dogs, and pizza. The Crab Shack is and always has been a family owned business, and recently began shipping our entrees in ready-to-be-cooked kits through LoCo To Go. Stop by and experience all we have to offer for yourself!
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We did not actually eat here but had drinks instead. Nice place to hang out, though. The bartender was very nice and the drinks were not watered down. Most of the gators were resting when we were there, it must have been time for their afternoon nap.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,270
    1,259
    571
    242
    237
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Crab Shack was recommended by one of the Savannah tour guides and turned out to be a good place to eat. The atmosphere is very casual and fun. They don't accept reservations, but we did not wait more than a couple minutes to be seated. Drinks were kind of pricey, but I had some rum drink that was good. I ordered the sampler platter for one, which was HUGE--enough for two-four people. The food was very good, but messy to eat, with having to crack the crabs and peel the shrimp. There was a sink near the table, where patrons could wash their hands after eating. We ate outside, which was kind of fun, although noisy. Several cats roam the place and one stopped near our table to munch on a shrimp someone had fed it, but I never noticed that any jumped on a table. All the cats looked too well-fed to be healthy. They also have several tropical birds in cages in a room--I sort of felt sorry for them, although they seemed to be cared for. The bathroom was NOT CLEAN and smelled--a shame, because it was the only detraction from an otherwise good place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane0266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food - wonderful atmosphere”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We drove out to Tybee Island for the last day of our visit to Savannah. I had been reading about The Crab Shack and insisted that we eat dinner there. I was glad that we did! The atmosphere is delightful! I wish we had gotten there before dark so we could have seen the alligators. But the lights everyone were magical. The food was very good. We shared the seafood sampler for two and ate almost everything on the tray. Would definately go back if we ever make it back this way.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun place to go!!!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very cool and unique and fun. Went with the family and it was well worth it. Awesome food! We had shrimp and deviled crab and clam chowder. The kids had shrimp and they really enjoyed it too. Fun experience! Highly recommend it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“cool place”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I tried the crab stew, it had a good taste but was not served hot, so I had to send it back. Our server seemed a bit distracted. I would like to go back to the crab shack and try again. I would suggest you go even if you don't eat, because it's such a cool place and you can feed the gators.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing