We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we loved the Desoto” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desoto Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Desoto Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
clayton, in
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“we loved the Desoto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2006

We had a wonderful time at the Desoto. It was our son's first time staying on the ocean; we could not have picked a better place. The staff were so friendly and helpful, it was clean and very peaceful. We went to relax and that's what we did. We reserved an oceanfront room and that's what we got. The continental breakfast was great, just enough for a lite meal before going out in the hot sun. We loved the pool and our son loved having the pool table there to play with. We would definitely return.

  • Liked — ocean view, friendly staff
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrs.huges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    327
    161
    77
    61
See reviews for
344
437
54
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2006

The hotel was clean and definately close to the beach. But the parking was cramped and the room needed some minor replacements. The shower curtain rod fell everytime you opened the curtain. It wouldn't hurt to spend a few bucks to upgrade the TV and maybe a new $10.00 shower curtain rod.
Also when we checked out we were charged more for the 1st night (Sun.) than the 2nd night (Mon.). This was brought to the attention of the desk clerk but there was no apology. It seemed that we had inconvienced her by making her redo the bill.
It wasn't a totally bad experience but we'll probably try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2006

I had read about the rooms having strong odors but didn't think it could be that bad. I was wrong. One room smelled so much of bleach, I could not get out of there fast enough. The other room smelled of some cleanser, but leaving the door open for awhile remedied that issue. The continental breakfast was very disappointing. The coffee and juice were really good but that was about it. I don't think it would be that difficult to put out some fruit, more cereal and less grocery store boxed donuts. The location was good for beach lovers but next time I go to the beach, I am definitely renting a condo and hitting a grocery store on the way!

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank KimS_Tulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2006

This Hotel is a lovely place to stay,if it was any closer to the beach it would be in the ocean. Pool is right on the beach where you can watch the Dolphins swim in the ocean or see the ships come in and out of the entrance to the Savannah River. Would stay here again,even got to meet the owner of the Desoto,very nice person.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Fripps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizella ga
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2006

My wife and I decided to take a trip to just get away for awhile.So we chose to go to the ocean somewhere. Not knowing really where to go we heard it was nice on Tybee island.So we looked at everything in the area,and found the dasoto beach hotel to be the best place.Keep in mind this is my wifes first time to the ocean.She was not dissapointed neither was i .It was great the people were very kind and helpfull.Our 4 year old son had a great time playing on the beach,which is rite there.We enjoyed being so close to the beach because we wanted to look for shells.Needless to say were planning our next trip for sept.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, GA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2006

We stayed here for a long Spring Break weekend. I was pleasantly surprised at the accomodations. Room was nice and clean, appreciate the fridge, LOVED the proximity to the beach.
The staff was extremely friendly and accomodating. We had an issue our last morning there with NO hot water, but were able to shower in another room, so we were pleased with that.
We DEFINITELY will return!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tamtot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2006

Just wanted to give a thumbs up for this place. I was worried when we booked it because the hotel was so small, but it is run as well as any larger hotel. Room was clean except for a mysterious stain on one chair. Room was relatively spacious (for a beach hotel), had a fridge, microwave and nice TV. The game room was not much, but had a pool table. The location was great, parking was never a problem. Everything in the room (except for that chair) looked new and well kept. They had a really nice free continental breakfast every morning. AC worked well, too. They do not offer roll away beds. Next time I am in Tybee I will be staying there.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
10.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.3 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
14.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah Historic District / Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.6 mi away
Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tybee Island Inn
Tybee Island Inn
#4 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desoto Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desoto Beach Hotel

Property: Desoto Beach Hotel
Address: 212 Butler Ave., PO Box 1398, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desoto Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only oceanfront hotel on Tybee Island. Direct beach access with oceanfront pool sundeck and game room. Free continental breakfast and WIFI. Voted best place to stay 7 years in a row. Beautifully re-modeled rooms and a heated and cooled pool depending on the weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Desoto Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desoto Beach Tybee Island
Hotel Desoto Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing