We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desoto Beach Hotel”
Review of Desoto Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Desoto Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Economy, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Desoto Beach Hotel”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Very nice Family oriented hotel with nice pool and easy access to the beach. Well appointed room, and adequate buffet breakfast. We found it to be an excellent value. The staff was very cordial to guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GramG08-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank You so much for your wonderful comments, we hope to see you soon. The DeSoto Beach Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    343
    167
    81
    67
See reviews for
375
457
56
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I booked another hotel online and arrived and found terrible everything. Left and drove to DeSoto. Spring break, but they had a room available for walk-in. Gave me discount for "walk-in". Felt much safer here, rooms were better and it was a good location. Parking lot a little tight. Best rooms will definitely be considered the OCEAN FRONT. Oceanview rooms over look parking lot. The hotel is "U" shaped and there is an echo from noises and especially talking that could be heard in room. Overall, MUCH better than the 1st one I went to - and I will definitely go back and stay at the DeSoto again.

Room Tip: Don't read reviews from just one website. First hotel had great reviews on one site. Afterward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Great location right on beach and not too large. Pool is on small side but heated. Continental breakfast is nothing to write home about. Despite fairly new renovations, storage in room is not well planned. For example, there are 2 very deep drawers where 4 less deep ones would have been much more useful. No good place to store luggage. Bathroom is cramped.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robtlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank You for your comments, you are correct we just finished the renovations this past January, however maybe not the best pick on the drawer set up, and I do apologize for the storage situation. We hope you return to our wonderful family of properties, maybe one of our Terraces would work better they have much more storage in them set up like an apartment. Thank You again hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Very convenient to beach and this was important to us. Staff set up out chairs and umbrellas we rented. Made it easy for a last minute trip to beach. Room was clean and staff was friendly. Hallways and game room could use an update. Arcade games were not working. Beach was not crowded and beautiful! A short drive to the busier part of tybee. Walking distance to some places to eat though. Go to The Breakfast Club and AJs! We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceasler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank You for your review, we hope you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I travel to the area often on business and split my stay either on Tybee or Savannah. This trip was back to Tybee. The Desoto staff at check in was not friendly at all and after a long drive you would at least like a smile much like what you get at the Hyatt on Bay St. and for the same of less price. We were never told about breakfast or offered any other information regarding amenities. There was no one there but me, so it was not like I was holding up the line. When I asked about the cottages she stated there were no cottages there, and when I told her I stayed next door last time, she corrected me that they were terraces, not cottages in a very rude manner.
Even though there have been some significant improvements to the rooms, we found one hand towel and one wash cloth. The pillows are so bad that we will bring our own if we come back. Not only are they so cheap and flat, but they smelled like bed head stink.
At least we did not watch one of your housekeepers physically assault a visitor like before.
The pool area was found to be very clean although I never go in simply because there are no restrooms available nearby and I know that encourages people; especially children to just pee in the pool.
The fact that you can just walk right out the door onto the beach is most appealing to some folks so the location is very good. I only saw one cat this time so I must say that I missed the cats as I am sure you do not. (smile)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank You for your response, we sincerely do apologize for the employee, we are going thru some training of some new staff and unfortunately they all don't make it! We do hope that you try us again upon your return to Tybee Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The hotel rooms were clean. The set up was a bit different. No bathrooms down at pool, had to go to your room. House keeping was horrible, first day the didn't vacuum and left dirty towels. I went to front desk and they said they would make sure they cleaned and again, no towels left at all. Beds poorly made,floor not vacuumed , no toilet paper or toiletries. I called and they said they would clean. So we waited an hour to go up and they still had not cleaned and the front desk had no appoligies. The girl that did clean room was very nice and she felt bad for the service we had been given. It's too bad that no one cares about their job. I will say they had a few staff members that were very nice but management was just terrible.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanmitchtrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank You for your response, I am working with our housekeeping department so as I can assure you this won't happen again, we pride our selves on being very clean and offering friendly service, I do apologize you had these issues and hope that you give us another try when you return to Tybee Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

I think the higher price is for the location. It is right on the ocean. We did not have ocean view but it was not important since we were there for only one night. The beds were very comfortable. That fact alone would get me to come again if I were passing that way again. The rooms are small and have been updated. TVs are new flat screens and there are plugs for charging your electronics easily accessible at desk level. (Those little things help.) Even with updating, you don't get the feel of luxury except for the beds. Modest for the rest is a better word. Cleanliness of bath area was average. Take time to eat at Uncle Bubba's Seafood and Oyster House (off island but not far).

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
10.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.3 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
305 reviews
1.2 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
255 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
696 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dunes Inn & Suites
Dunes Inn & Suites
#4 of 8 in Tybee Island
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desoto Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desoto Beach Hotel

Property: Desoto Beach Hotel
Address: 212 Butler Ave., PO Box 1398, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desoto Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only oceanfront hotel on Tybee Island. Direct beach access with oceanfront pool sundeck and game room. Free continental breakfast and WIFI. Voted best place to stay 7 years in a row. Beautifully re-modeled rooms and a heated and cooled pool depending on the weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Desoto Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desoto Beach Tybee Island
Hotel Desoto Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing