We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”
Review of Desoto Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Desoto Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Wyandotte, Michigan
1 review
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We spent a lot of money on an ocean view room. We had an ocean view, but not before the parking lot, the pool and a fair distance. The booking said we would have a king suite with a couch, but there was no couch. When I checked in, it took a while, but the girl was by herself and it wasn't really her fault. However, as I was walking away, I could hear a gentleman who worked there complaining about another guest, just not professional. Also, if you want to charge that much for a room, things like chairs for the beach should be included, not rented. The layout of the room left some to be desired as well, as the sink was around the corner from the bathroom and there were no towels over there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank careco80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    339
    166
    79
    64
See reviews for
362
452
55
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Staff refused to let anyone check in till 3p. Our bathroom spelled like sour Clorox water. We were never given details about any continental breakfast. We left for the evening, and when we returned, there was no parking space for us. The cost for one night was $189.00 with $49.00 level service.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwennurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSotoBeachManager, Guest Relations Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We sincerely do apologize for your not being able to check in early than our check time of 3pm, we run a high occupancy and you were here on the week end when we run a 100% occupancy so it is difficult for us to honor an early check in although we do everything in our power to arrange it if possible. You do again apologize for your inconvenience and do hope your return to the DeSoto Beach Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were clean kinda small but doable it was very relaxing I would come back for a stay and the people at the front desk was very nice we couldn't find our room the lady on the Friday night shift was really helpful and nice

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Willie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSotoBeachManager, Guest Relations Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank You so much for your Great Comments, We can't wait until your return to the Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Room was clean, roomy, and nicely furnished. Didn't smell moldy or dirty, like another place I stayed at a couple of years ago. The bathroom was clean, had plenty of towels, and having a small microwave and refrigerator was also a nice touch.

Negatives would be the morning coffee (too weak) and pedestrian pastries. Might not be a bad idea to patronize some of the bakeries on Wilmington Island. A little more expensive but given the price of the average room, couldn't hurt. Charlotte's Confectionary sells wholesale and retail as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We enjoyed the hotel; staff and accommodations were fine. The free breakfast was all "carbs", not healthy. The beach is fantastic and pool was warm and nice. The biggest problem with Tybee Island is the Parking Meters EVERYWHERE-even in off season and on days when there are like 3 tourists on the whole island the parking Nazis are swarming. Eight minutes for a quarter is expensive; but the whole experience is a hassle. If you stop to visit some shops and put $2 in the meter and then find you aren't interested in the shops, you blew $2. If you put in 50 cents and then decide, maybe I will have an ice cream, you must run back and feed the meter. It is too much of a hassle. I would not come back to Tybee Island for this reason; I don't need a hassle while on vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hickory, nc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The location to the beach was great. Parking is a bit tight. Only allowed 1 space per room. 20.00 for an additional space. Hotel is located closer to the north side of the island but hotel offers bicycle rentals at a readonable rate. The continental breakfast has the usual stuff available.

You would not be disappointed to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kidpartiesRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
10.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.3 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah Historic District / Riverfront
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.6 mi away
Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desoto Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desoto Beach Hotel

Property: Desoto Beach Hotel
Address: 212 Butler Ave., PO Box 1398, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desoto Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only oceanfront hotel on Tybee Island. Direct beach access with oceanfront pool sundeck and game room. Free continental breakfast and WIFI. Voted best place to stay 7 years in a row. Beautifully re-modeled rooms and a heated and cooled pool depending on the weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Desoto Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desoto Beach Tybee Island
Hotel Desoto Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing