We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under renovation Winter 13/14”
Review of Desoto Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Desoto Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed in an ocean front room over the Christmas holidays. The room was fine & the staff helpful, but almost every other room in the hotel was under renovation. Construction equipment and debris was everywhere. The workers were polite and didn't start work until after 8am, but it wasn't the experience I hoped for. Kinda of spooky being in an almost empty hotel. The biggest issue was that the heated pool which I had been told on the phone on Monday was open ("Be sure and bring your suit, because we have a heated pool.") was closed when I arrived later in the week. The hotel should be more forthcoming about the entire situation when making reservations on the phone. Ask.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Garfish123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,169)
There are newer reviews for Desoto Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

874 - 880 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

I paid for a PREMIUM ocean view and the view was of the parking lot with the "view" at the end of the lot. See pic. The room is located at the elevator/stairs door/lobby breakfast area. Let me say that there was just the standard hallway width between all 3 doors. Not good from a door slamming, people talking perspective. Bathroom (toilet and shower) was barely large enough for one average-sized person. King size bed was comfortable. Continental breakfast was typical. We requested to change rooms (with better ocean view) and was told there were no rooms available - BUT there was a VACANCY sign out front. I've stayed in beach hotels before so don't think that I'm being overcritical. I travel A LOT. IF I ever decide to stay on Tybee Island again, it will NOT be here.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room NOT on the first floor where the lobby is. This is one hotel you shoul...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank traveler6183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

So when we got to the hotel there was one receptionist. She was on the phone with another guest for 15 minutes. I have mixed feelings about this but we almost missed our dinner reservation as we didn't anticipate check in to take that long.

We we're put in room 114. Unless you like a LOT of noise and are a smoker you probably will not like the room. It is right over the entrance to the beach and is one of the only smoking areas. Smoke wafted in our room if we kept the door open:(. The room was old and outdated. There is only 1 working outlet. I will say the sheets and bed were awesome!!

On check out the hotel double billed our visa and our debit card. This will be an inconvenience but fixable. Really not sure how I feel about our stay but it was probably average. Best of luck.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roatandonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank You for taking the time to leave us your comments, we do appreciate all comments positive or negative. We do apologize for the smoking area, we have since moved the smoking area to the side of the building so as to not to affect the rooms on the end, and unfortunately you just missed the renovations, for we finished the renovation on the ocean front rooms at the end of January, we hope that you return to see the new décor. Thank You once again, and hope you think of us again upon returning to Tybee Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

A really nice touch were the fixtures in the bathroom. No expense was spared for the quality of the faucet handles, flusher knob, and towel holder. They were solid brass and oak of a heavy feel, giving sense of being in a quality establishment. And, walking in, immediately I could see that the bowl and bathtub were spotless. One more quality touch, making one to feel himself to be at a place that really cares, was the quality of the shampoo and conditioner samples. One is accustomed to tiny little plastic containers of generic quality. These were little jars with screw-off lids with nice, thick, luxurious content. To top off the nice experience, a plentiful supply of thick, soft towels.

These were a fine 2 days. I'll be back!

Room Tip: Can't beat 210 if you want a good bathroom.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

We Thank You for your visit and your wonderful comments, we pride ourselves on a clean and friendly Hotel, can't wait for your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Great beach hotel value! This is not a five star hotel, but it is clean and comfortable, and the beach is wonderful! The staff was pleasant and helpful. The water pressure and draining in the shower could use some improvement but weren't horrible. The breakfast is basic, but was nice and handy. We enjoyed our stay so much we stayed an extra day!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank ksrinlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank You so very much for your positive review we do appreciate all reviews, we hope you return soon we just finished our remodel of all of our guest rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband & I spent five days in Tybee at the Desoto. All I can say is I am sad that I did not read more reviews. When we checked in the clerk was somewhat hospitable but when my husband went to ask about the internet connection "which we never seemed to get it to connect" she was not so friendly anymore. Our room key stopped working after we got in the room the first time and he had to deal once again with the not so friendly clerk and attitude. The first thing we did was check the bed for cleanliness and you guessed it...it was not clean. The sheets and pillow cases looked clean but upon further observation the blanket in between the spread and sheet was filthy as well as the mattress cover and mattress. We also checked the bathroom and discovered a dirty shower, commode and floor. The room was just not clean. Outlets had dust build up, tables were also dusty, microwave turntable was the wrong one and would not turn your food, towel bar in bath hanging out of wall, no ventilation in bathroom, hotel was noisy at night time and the bed was hard as a rock and not comfortable at all. Needless to say we went to the store and bought lots of Lysol and disinfecting wipes and stayed gone from the room as much as possible. For the money we paid, I would not recommend this hotel and would stay at a different hotel with cleaner rooms and friendlier staff.













































'

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mparks777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank You for the feedback, we do appreciate all feed back good or bad, we feel that we learn and grow from our guests comments. We do apologize that you did not enjoy your stay we have tried to contact you thru trip advisor but to no avail. We are concerned with your feedback do to the fact that our Hotel has been fully renovated just this past December, this was a complete renovation from painting to all brand new fixtures and furniture, and appliances. We would appreciate your stopping by upon your next visit to Tybee Island. Thank You once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Our experience here was very good. We were pleased with our accommodations. The breakfast variety left something to be desired and there was no microwave in the breakfast room, however. The beach access and WIFI were a plus.

We were happier here and driving into the city than staying in the hustle of Savannah. The Pulaski Fort and lighthouses nearby were really great finds.

I would recommend to others and return again too.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Rabbit4shows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
1.2 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
91 reviews
10.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.3 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
297 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
756 reviews
0.0 mi away
DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast
DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 8 in Tybee Island
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desoto Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desoto Beach Hotel

Address: 212 Butler Ave., Tybee Island, GA 31328-9794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range: $108 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desoto Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only oceanfront hotel on Tybee Island. Direct beach access with oceanfront pool sundeck and game room. Free continental breakfast and WIFI. Voted best place to stay 7 years in a row. Beautifully re-modeled rooms and a heated and cooled pool depending on the weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Desoto Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desoto Beach Tybee Island
Hotel Desoto Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing