We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time around”
Review of Desoto Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Desoto Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Second time staying here. Staff is great, Rooms clean, Great views. Very relaxing experience.

Great value for the money. Good old time southern hospitality made me feel right at home. Wish all my travel experiences were like this.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarvBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

947 - 953 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our stay at Desoto Beach Hotel was very pleasant. Enjoyed staying right on the beach. Our side view room offered a decent view of the ocean and was roomy enough for two adults and two children. Room was clean and comfortable. We had a minor issue with lack of wash clothes, but staff were very helpful. Location was nice, within walking distant to a couple of restaurants and shops. Parking was definitely very tight and limited, but no matter what time we came back to our room we found a parking spot. All the staff we encountered were extremely nice, helpful and accommodating. We enjoyed our stay so much that we extended it by one more night. We plan to visit Tybee again and will most likely choose Desoto Beach Hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcv123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

me and my family stayed in bungalow 1604 had a great stay pool all to ourself nice and quiet very roomy for my family of six pleasant check in staff was very friendly and helpful cleaning staff was leaving when we checked in even offered to help us carry our items in great location could not of asked for a better vacation spot thanks desoto

Room Tip: bungalows are where to be
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonymarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had an "OK" stay here. The price we paid is questionable for the value of what we got. The room itself was fine. The view was nice. However, our hopes of being able to enjoy the balcony to hear the ocean were dashed by air conditioner wonderfully positioned right next to our room and the plentiful noises of the guests in the pool from morning to night and little kids with flashlights running around on the beach screeching at midnight! (not the hotel's fault per se). We had some problems with the appliances and toilet, however, the staff was quick to tend to it the best they could. And they did give us a discount for the inconvenience! Our biggest gripe would probably be the parking and especially trying to find out where the ice machine was. We had to hunt for it!

Room Tip: Away from air conditioner noise, and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

the hotel is on the beach,approx 30min walk down to pier and eatertys down the beach.parking sparse,room ok,but did have some type of odor.good breakfast selection,staff was very friendly and helpful,if you are looking for a new hotel experience,this is not it.overall though,we enjoyed our stay as we do not spend a lot of time in our room,only 15-20min into Savannah,small pool area

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Perhaps the most happening place on any beach is Tybee Island and Desoto Beach Hotel with the ocean side condos are probably the best bet. The condo comes with a balcony overlooking the vast expanse of the Atlantic Ocean. It is never lonely out here since you will always see happy faces freak out on the beach. The rooms are large and spacious with conveniently positioned wash rooms, a large and well equipped kitchen and a double living space. Cook if you like or just talk a walk on the streets and chose your favorite restaurant from a string of excellent dining places.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chandan144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had 6 people with us for this vacation. We stayed in the Hernando Desoto Suite which was right outside of the lobby, which for us was convenient. Breakfast was right outside of our door as were towels and all needs. Staff was friendly, helpful and very nice. Our room was comfortable, accommodating for 6 people. It was not immaculate but was clean. I am very skeptical and had no ill comments at all. I showed it to a questioning customer and she thought it was great. She booked for the week. We loved that we had two toilets; one shower, a kitchen, and all three areas (rooms) had its own private balcony door. It was a nice stay; even it tropical storm Andrea was there. We sat in the game room and watched the huge waves; awesome. Stay there and see for yourself....you will have a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zmomlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
1.2 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
95 reviews
10.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.3 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
311 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
770 reviews
0.0 mi away
DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast
DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 8 in Tybee Island
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desoto Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desoto Beach Hotel

Address: 212 Butler Ave., Tybee Island, GA 31328-9794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range: $101 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desoto Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only oceanfront hotel on Tybee Island. Direct beach access with oceanfront pool sundeck and game room. Free continental breakfast and WIFI. Voted best place to stay 7 years in a row. Beautifully re-modeled rooms and a heated and cooled pool depending on the weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Desoto Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desoto Beach Tybee Island
Hotel Desoto Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing