We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tybee Island Inn”
Review of Tybee Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tybee Island Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Tybee Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Had a really nice time at this B&B. Julie was extremely accommodating and the breakfasts both days were very good. Spent the day in Savannah and had dinner at Uncle Bubbas. Fabulous shrimp and grits. The first room we were in was next to the pantry and kitchen and was very narrow with a corner shower which was very small. Also the bathroom for one of the downstairs rooms backed up to our bedroom. When I mentioned the extremely early start of the people downstairs we were offered another room. The Lighthouse room on the 2nd floor was great. Would definitely recommend the upstairs rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllis39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 421 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

This Bed and Breakfast Inn was awesome. We love to travel with our little dog and they had a pet friendly room with an outside fenced in area near the room. That is the first time we had seen anything like that at a bed and breakfast. Thank YOU. The owner, Lloyd, was friendly and likable and he had hired some of the BEST staff. Gary is a very creative cook and Julie was terrific as well. We felt very comfortable and at home with them and the other guests. Tybee Island has a very clean beach area and we walked everywhere we wanted to go. There is a dog park right down from the Inn which was very good for those quick walks in the chilly mornings. This is the BEST place to stay. We will be back again.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MOsburn554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We decided to try this very well reviewed B&B with a groupon. I'll start with the pro's: 1) Garry and Julie are wonderful. They are super sweet and willing to do anything to make you comfortable. They also had great suggestions on where to go around town. 2) the location is perfect. You are within easy walking distance of the beach and the lighthouse. The island is just beautiful. 3) the inn has a wonderful charm to it. The outside is beautiful and unique.

Now the cons: 1) we decided on the Captain's Quarters which was a huge mistake. This is not a room with a lot of privacy. The bathroom has only saloon doors between it and your hallway and then another set of saloon doors without a door handle (only a sliding latch) between you and the entrance to the whole inn. Not my kind of privacy at all. You also have to go up a spiral staircase to get to the bathroom which is hazardous at best. The room is in the basement so you can hear everything in the inn. Also has many doors to nowhere which we found creepy. The bed is also very uncomfortable.
2) the food was atrocious! The first day we were served raw sausage and runny eggs. The second a clump of grits and a mushroom and spinach "quiche" that sat on almost everyone's plate at the end of breakfast. Not the kind of cooking expected when you pay almost 200 dollars a night. 3) the played music 24/7 to give you some semblance of privacy because you could hear everything, but it woke both of us up all night long. 4) there is false advertising on the website. Each room says there is a fridge and fireplace. There is a communal fridge (which is fine if you state it that way) and a heater that looks like a fire when it's on....not the same thing as a real fireplace.

All in all we were very disappointed especially after reading these wonderful reviews. Maybe if we were in a different room, but the risk of getting sick for the cooking is enough to make it so we wouldn't even consider this place again. We didn't pay full price, but I wouldn't have even payed what we did.

Room Tip: I would never suggest the Captain's Quarters and I heard the Sea Cabin is behind the kitchen and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Tybee Island Inn. A real treasurer with beautiful surroundings. The rooms made us feel we were at home. Slept like a baby. If your in the aera this is the place to stay.

Curt & Cindy

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

If you love a peaceful tucked away place, this is it on Tybee! The location is awesome, hidden away but close to everything! A few minute walk and you're on the beach and once on the beach a few minutes from Tybee Lighthouse which is so beautiful from the beach especially. And right around the corner from the Inn is a little park where the oaks and wildlife are abundant. Perfect way to start off any day. I loved The Flamingo Room! It has it's own private entrance, parking area (right outside the door), courtyard, rocking chairs and a swing! And it's pet friendly, if you have your four legged friend with you. Inside was very cozy and comfortable. For those who have difficulty climbing, you may want to try another room because you will have to climb a steep winding staircase to get to the private bath, which I loved, very charming! The bed was so comfortable, good sleep! And breakfast outstading and plenty of areas to enjoy it! Thanks for a perfect stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

From the afternoon delights, cake, brownies, coffee and tea to the fabulous friendly breakfasts, we loved staying in our pet friendly room. Recomended as a great stay on a wonderful island. Walked to the beach, the lighthouse and the park.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We really liked the island and the Inn itself was nice enough, but the room was so narrow there were literally inches on either side of the queen bed and I found myself constantly fighting claustrophobia. The mattress was hard as a rock and sagged badly. On the plus side, the tub was nice. Overall not worth the money, at least not for that room. (We stayed in the Sea Room)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Serena731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
0.5 mi away
Desoto Beach Hotel
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
1,209 reviews
1.6 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
97 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
333 reviews
0.4 mi away
DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast
DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 8 in Tybee Island
211 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tybee Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tybee Island Inn

Address: 24 Van Horne Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9780
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tybee Island
Price Range: $228 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tybee Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty minutes from Savannah, a several minute stroll from the beach and two blocks from the Tybee lighthouse, Tybee Island Inn captures the beach casual essence of Tybee with style. Sleep Your Seashore Fantasy in king and queen guest rooms inspired by the sea- Mermaid, Dolphin, Lighthouse, Sea Cabin, Captains Quarters, Savannah Beach and Sunset all with private baths, air conditioning and cable TV. Other amenities include private decks, gardens, gazebo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tybee Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tybee Island Hotel Tybee Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing