We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality Savannah Style”
Review of Tybee Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tybee Island Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Tybee Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We spent a wonderful 3 nights at the Tybee Island Inn, where we were treated as if we were old friends by innkeeper Lloyd and staff. Breakfasts were incredible and delicious. The Inn is a short walk from the beautiful beaches, and a bike or car ride from the lighthouse and good restaurants. Savannah is an easy 15 minute drive away. We plan on going back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalsamva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 421 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband & I stayed in the Captains Quarters for 2 nights. It was spacious, the sheets were incredibly soft & the electric fireplace created a nice ambiance. Climbing the circular staircase up the bathroom was worth it. It is a huge room & the copper tub was fantastic. We are not particularly early risers so we didn't make it upstairs at 9am for breakfast but the staff was so gracious & made us a tray filled with all the breakfast items & brought it to us. The food is wonderful & at night they put out a desset tray to satisfy those midnight cravings.
One thing. Our room got a bit noisy in the mornings from the breakfast group upstairs but again if you're an early riser it shouldn't bother you. Oh, & don't forget to unlock the door outside the bathroom or you won't get clean towels. Our fault. :) Really, everthing was great. The outside area was lovely & I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

What a beautiful island and inn! My husband and I enjoyed a very relaxing weekend at the Tybee Island Inn. We stayed in the Savannah Beach room and found it to be very comfortable and decorated very nicely. The breakfasts and desserts were all wonderful. Lloyd and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed talking with the other guests. We rented bikes (with Lloyd's help) and rode all over the island; it was great. We ate at Huc a Poos and the Sundae Cafe. They were very different but we enjoyed both and highly recommend them. We felt very safe and we found even the people on the island to be very friendly. We hope to return and stay longer as we would like to spend time on the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyWGreenville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

From the warm and very helpful, knowledgable host Lloyd to the hearty and tasty breakfast to the comfy rooms (I stayed in Sea Cabin and Dolphin), my last minute trip to Tybee Island Inn was relaxing and easy - just couldn't have been better. And its location in quiet, lovely North beach made it convenient both to strolls along the shore and easy walk to great restaurants (especially Sundae Cafe!). Hope to return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandBTravler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We enjoyed the peace and quiet and the garden very much. The first night on the beach we saw dolphins just swimming. We went there for our 30th wedding anniversary. Sitting on the front porch looking at the garden was heaven. We met so many nice people and didn't see
any strangers. I would recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Each room has a different theme We stayed in the Mermaid room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here the last week of September 2012. We stayed in the room named Sea Cabin and it was very comfortable and fun. We slept well every night. Quiet mornings on the front porch swing while waiting for breakfast are already a treasured memory. The surrounding grounds are as close to paradise as you can imagine. Breakfast by Patty and Julie were pure delight. Make sure you ask for Banana Pudding. You won't be disappointed. We will return here. Very restful place to recharge your batteries. Savannah and Tybee Island are fun destinations for all. Thanks to Lloyd and staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RicksterPatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Sea cabin for two nights for our anniversary. I loved our room with the tub for two. It is not a room I would recommend for anyone that likes to sleep in. It is between the kitchen and the dog area outside. There was a quite vocal dog staying the same time as us.
Everyone here is super nice! And it is hard to say anything bad buuuut....I have to say I was disappointed with breakfast and the snack the second day. I expected gourmet for the rates charged and certainly did not expect microwaved brownies =(

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Forrealz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
0.5 mi away
Desoto Beach Hotel
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
1,220 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
330 reviews
9.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast
DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 8 in Tybee Island
213 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
793 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tybee Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tybee Island Inn

Address: 24 Van Horne Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9780
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tybee Island
Price Range: $228 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tybee Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty minutes from Savannah, a several minute stroll from the beach and two blocks from the Tybee lighthouse, Tybee Island Inn captures the beach casual essence of Tybee with style. Sleep Your Seashore Fantasy in king and queen guest rooms inspired by the sea- Mermaid, Dolphin, Lighthouse, Sea Cabin, Captains Quarters, Savannah Beach and Sunset all with private baths, air conditioning and cable TV. Other amenities include private decks, gardens, gazebo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Tybee Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tybee Island Hotel Tybee Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing