We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Escape”
Review of Tybee Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tybee Island Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Tybee Island B&B and Inns
Greenville
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Escape”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

What a beautiful island and inn! My husband and I enjoyed a very relaxing weekend at the Tybee Island Inn. We stayed in the Savannah Beach room and found it to be very comfortable and decorated very nicely. The breakfasts and desserts were all wonderful. Lloyd and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed talking with the other guests. We rented bikes (with Lloyd's help) and rode all over the island; it was great. We ate at Huc a Poos and the Sundae Cafe. They were very different but we enjoyed both and highly recommend them. We felt very safe and we found even the people on the island to be very friendly. We hope to return and stay longer as we would like to spend time on the beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyWGreenville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    63
    22
    14
    14
See reviews for
58
256
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

From the warm and very helpful, knowledgable host Lloyd to the hearty and tasty breakfast to the comfy rooms (I stayed in Sea Cabin and Dolphin), my last minute trip to Tybee Island Inn was relaxing and easy - just couldn't have been better. And its location in quiet, lovely North beach made it convenient both to strolls along the shore and easy walk to great restaurants (especially Sundae Cafe!). Hope to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandBTravler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We enjoyed the peace and quiet and the garden very much. The first night on the beach we saw dolphins just swimming. We went there for our 30th wedding anniversary. Sitting on the front porch looking at the garden was heaven. We met so many nice people and didn't see
any strangers. I would recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Each room has a different theme We stayed in the Mermaid room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here the last week of September 2012. We stayed in the room named Sea Cabin and it was very comfortable and fun. We slept well every night. Quiet mornings on the front porch swing while waiting for breakfast are already a treasured memory. The surrounding grounds are as close to paradise as you can imagine. Breakfast by Patty and Julie were pure delight. Make sure you ask for Banana Pudding. You won't be disappointed. We will return here. Very restful place to recharge your batteries. Savannah and Tybee Island are fun destinations for all. Thanks to Lloyd and staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RicksterPatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Sea cabin for two nights for our anniversary. I loved our room with the tub for two. It is not a room I would recommend for anyone that likes to sleep in. It is between the kitchen and the dog area outside. There was a quite vocal dog staying the same time as us.
Everyone here is super nice! And it is hard to say anything bad buuuut....I have to say I was disappointed with breakfast and the snack the second day. I expected gourmet for the rates charged and certainly did not expect microwaved brownies =(

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forrealz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crandall, GA
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We just stayed another 7 nights at Tybee Island Inn and had another wonderful time! This was our 4th stay in 2 years. Upon arrival you are greeted with beautiful garden and enchanting moss covered oaks, like walking into a fairy tale. The Inn was immaculate as always, as were the guest rooms. Lloyd has done some great things with the Flamingo Room (our usual room), by adding a larger TV and adding a dresser to the foot of the bed. This is a small room with a narrow spiral staircase going up to the bathroom so if you have a bad back or knees, this room might not be your best choice, however it is the only pet friendly room they have. If you have your pets travelling with you, it's convenient to open the door and let them play in the fenced in garden just off the covered porch area. There are also 2 rocking chairs and a porch swing for you to enjoy along with the private entrance.
A different, delicious breakfast was served each morning and the 3pm desserts that were put out for your convenience was mouth watering! Our favorite of Julie's breakfast was the casserole made with bread. (We send our love and best wishes out to Kathy). We were also surprised when Julie added our dog's names to the welcome sign on the front porch! Nice touch to know that they were welcomed too.
We made it a point on this trip to eat somewhere different for lunch and dinner every day. Tybee Island boasts some great restaurants, Sundae Cafe, The Rock House Bar & Grill, Spanky's Beachside, AJ's and more. For an entirely different experience, check out North Beach Bar and Grill and try the seaweed calamari salad. The Crab Shack is a popular joint and even though we hadn't heard anything good about it, we decided to try it against our better judgement. We didn't like it at all, but we prefer more than boiled shrimp sprinkled with Old Bay seasoning.
Savannah is a short 20 minute drive away and it is beautiful at night. One late evening we were enjoying a walk around Colonial Park Cemetary and accidentally bumped into a ghost tour guide who told us some interesting facts about the cemetary and the best spots to set the Ghost radar off. For dinner in Savannah, we recommend the 17Hundred90 Inn, which might be considered a bit pricey for some but is well worth it. The Casbah Moroccan was a new and delightful experience for us as well, with a short walk to Leopold's Ice Cream afterwards. Belford's in City Market let us sit on the patio with the dogs for lunch (which was great) and they even brought the dogs a bowl of water without our asking them to. The dogs were welcomed in all the art galleries in City Market and on River Street. We also enjoyed Monterey Square with them both in the afternoons and evenings. Savannah being very pet friendly is a plus for us when travelling with our 4 tiny Chihuahuas. Savannah is never boring and there is always something to do. Don't miss Bonaventure Cemetary! Laurel Grove Cemetary is also interesting.
Since Tybee Island doesn't have a pet friendly beach designated, we drove an hour away to Folly Filed, SC where our little ones enjoyed playing on the beach for the first time. The beach was clean and well kept. It was a pleasant drive over so it didn't seem like we were driving that far. We highly recommend this beach for 4 legged fun in the sun!
Staying at Tybee Island Inn is like visiting family for us. Lloyd always has everything ready and we don't have to worry about a thing while we're there. We even got yo meet Sammy the Poodle on this trip! We're still in touch with friends we've made on our previous visits there. To Lloyd, thanks for your hospitality, we appreciate all you do for us. Making reservations with Lloyd is easy and any phone calls or emails are promptly responded to. The staff there is amazing at making everything perfect for us and we hope to see you again in a few months (if not sooner). Thanks for a wonderful stay! Lisa & Bruce, Blossom, Sebastian, Napoleon and Idabell

Room Tip: The Flamingo Room is small with a narrow spiral staircase leading to the bathroom. Might be hard on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaandBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I spent a quick night here in the Dolphin room. We loved it! Lloyd was extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was wonderful- great bedding, nice TV with HBO, nice patio where we enjoyed a bottle of champagne to celebrate our 3rd wedding anniversary. We had a fabulous time- we didn't want to leave. The gardens upon entry to the Inn are incredibly beautiful, and the food was good as well, not to mention having ice cream and cake for the guests for an afternoon treat! Every detail was attended to. A charming and eclectic little place. We would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor, so it was quite private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
0.5 mi away
Desoto Beach Hotel
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
1,157 reviews
1.6 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
87 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
9.9 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
284 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tybee Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tybee Island Inn

Property: Tybee Island Inn
Address: 24 Van Horne Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9780
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tybee Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty minutes from Savannah, a several minute stroll from the beach and two blocks from the Tybee lighthouse, Tybee Island Inn captures the beach casual essence of Tybee with style. Sleep Your Seashore Fantasy in king and queen guest rooms inspired by the sea- Mermaid, Dolphin, Lighthouse, Sea Cabin, Captains Quarters, Savannah Beach and Sunset all with private baths, air conditioning and cable TV. Other amenities include private decks, gardens, gazebo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tybee Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tybee Island Hotel Tybee Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing