We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience!”
Review of Tybee Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tybee Island Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Tybee Island B&B and Inns
Cartersville, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience!”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We loved Tybee Island Inn B&B!! The place is extremely nice and clean and the innkeepers are fabulous. They provide such a welcoming atmosphere and there is a refrigerator for the guests to use and place any of their own food and snacks in. Speaking of snacks, Kathy kept a delicious assortment of snacks out the whole time and we had to pass these tempting snacks every time that we came in or out of our room. Needless to say between us and the other guests they never went to waste.

Kathy also makes an incredible breakfast that you will love. The outside area of the B&B is also gorgeous as you will see from the pictures. That old tree that hangs over the entire front yard with the spanish moss growing from it is incredible. We really enjoyed the front porch and swing, as well as the gazebo. One more great thing about this B&B is it's location. You literally only have to walk a couple hundred yards to the beach which made it great to wake up and walk down to the beach every morning to catch the sunrise.

You will love this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    63
    22
    14
    14
See reviews for
57
255
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

In short... DoNt GO!
I made a reservation and read all the cancellation info which says if you cancel within 7 days they would refund LESS THE DEPOSIT. I made my reservation 1 month and a half BEFORE my arrival date WITH NO CHARGES FOR A DEPOSIT on my card. Inside 7 days I cancelled the room and spoke to Lloyd. He told me he didn't do the transaction and that he has to get something for the room.He charged my card for one night's stay and now I have to dispute it thru my cardholder

What a Joke!! They don't even go by their own policies!!

Don't trust them!!! Reporting to BBB and will try to report to police for fraudulent/illegal charges!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank R E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LloydTybeeIsland, Owner at Tybee Island Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
The guest was scheduled to arrive at 3PM and cancelled his reservation at 2PM on the same day, one hour prior to arrival. We have a 7 day cancellation policy. If you cancel within 7 days, we retain a charge of one night's stay. The guest signed off that he read and understood our cancellation policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethalto, Illinois, United States
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

First it just looks peaceful. Then there's Cathy who makes you feel at home. Her breakfasts were great, the fillo dough basket being the best. Close to the beach and the best restaurant on the island, the Sundae Cafe. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toccoa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed there on St. Patrick's weekend 2012 and all we can say was "WOW" everything and then some. EXCELLENT hosts, Kathy and Jackie went above and beyond our expectations. Wonderful baked pancakes and a BIG THANKS for the specially made omelet for Jack, we definitely recommend a stay at this bed and breakfast.

TIM and JACK

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This was a great getaway! the inn is pet friendly and so is the island . Kathie was the inn keeper when we were there and she is wonderful . It is clean and beautiful. The inn is closer to the light house than the nite life , but the whole island is only about 2 1/2 miles anyway so nothing is really far . We enjoyed the St.Patty's day festivities which tybee celebrates a week early it was a nice surprise , which Kathie let us know about once she got us settled in . Will go again. May bring bikes next time...The inn provides Beach towels , hats , blow dryers and snacks , coffee and access to the fridge if you want to keep a few small things on hand. Breakfast was great.
Thanks for a great time Moncks Corner,SC

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We have used the inn (a B&B) for 5 years and keep coming back. It is close to the beach and the business district. Although the inn keepers have changed several times over the years, the service has not. Can not recommend this strongly enough.

Room Tip: Some are up stairs and some are on the ground floor if that is important. Many have access to their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Playin-Hooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
674 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Most of the rooms here are extremely nice, for example, the Captain's Quarters has an awesome huge copper bathtub, the Lighthouse Room has a great balcony overlooking the gigantic tree in the front yard, many of the rooms have large bathtubs. The grounds are nicely done and there are many little seating areas. The innkeeper very nicely provides beach towels, hats, and coolers. Ice cream and other snacks are available at all time; cookies or croissants are available late afternoon. If you have a dog, the Flamingo Room is pet-friendly and has a gated area. The only thing negative & I hesitate to call it a problem is to access the bathroom in the Flamingo Room, one must use a very, very tight spiral staircase. My husband & I joked that it would be easier to climb up a rope & slide down a fireman's pole than to manuever the spiral staircase. If you don't have a pet, opt for one of the other rooms as the Inn is very nice. If you do have a pet, be prepared for a steep access to the restroom. Also be aware that dogs are not allowed on beaches; there is a $200.00 fine. The location of the inn is great; restaurants are within easy walking distance and the beach is nearby.

Room Tip: Unless you have a pet, avoid the Flamingo Room due solely to the steep spiral staircase used to acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hola4876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
0.5 mi away
Desoto Beach Hotel
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
1,149 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
317 reviews
10.2 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
84 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tybee Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tybee Island Inn

Property: Tybee Island Inn
Address: 24 Van Horne Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9780
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tybee Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty minutes from Savannah, a several minute stroll from the beach and two blocks from the Tybee lighthouse, Tybee Island Inn captures the beach casual essence of Tybee with style. Sleep Your Seashore Fantasy in king and queen guest rooms inspired by the sea- Mermaid, Dolphin, Lighthouse, Sea Cabin, Captains Quarters, Savannah Beach and Sunset all with private baths, air conditioning and cable TV. Other amenities include private decks, gardens, gazebo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Tybee Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tybee Island Hotel Tybee Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing