We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tybee Island Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tybee Island Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Tybee Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crandall, GA
Level Contributor
224 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Another Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We just spent six nights at Tybee Island Inn for the third time in 12 months. Once again we stayed in the charming Flamingo Room which is perfect for us and our three tiny chihuahuas. At the entrance to the door of the room is a patio with porch swing which is convenient for us and a welcome rest after a day on the beach. Kathy's breakfasts are always interesting and delicious! We had a different, plentiful and delicious breakfast for six mornings in a row! We enjoy the view from the front porch with huge moss draped oak trees forming a canopy over the gardens and waterfalls. This place is simply enchanting to us and we are always welcomed to feel at home. We can't imagine staying anywhere else and as long as they keep at least one pet friendly room, we won't have to. The online pictures don't do the place justice, because upon arrival you feel transformed somewhere else. We'll be back again in the Spring and we're already looking forward to it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaandBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    61
    21
    14
    13
See reviews for
53
250
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My friend and I headed to Tybee for a girl's quick getaway. The Inn's entrance sells it. So charming, terrific porch, peaceful surroundings. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was just OK, a bit warm. It had everything you could need, except maybe a little blanket so you don't have to use the old, heavy comforter. The breakfast, although delcious, wasn't gourmet or plentiful, but good. The location was perfect. Less than 10 minute walk to beach. Not in the downtown shop area, which was good. They provide beach towels and chairs--nice touch. We had kitchen access to get a quick snack, coffee, tea, etc. Overall, nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkLime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

A beautiful, cozy, and very welcoming and friendly place to stay. Renovated old house splashed with creativity and things to read / explore in every corner. Kathy cooks a mean breakfast, sets out wine and cheese in the afternoon, and has lots of good info about the island. only downside: upstairs was not quite cool enough, but the fan provided does the trick.

Room Tip: each room has a different theme, very cute, we stayed in one upstairs which was nice for honeymooner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psmorehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

It was better than being at home with all of the items supplied, suntan lotion. beach towels, hats , unbrellas, bicycles, books etc, The staff was terrific, the breakfast was wonderful, the rooms adorable. In the evening there was wine and all the guests sat around talked for hours. The only problems was that our schedule only has there for one night.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredBooBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We came from Texas, really sight unseen, to this B&B! Kathy, the manager, was AMAZING and made us feel right at home from the time we walked in!! Every possible need was met, and she even scolded us for using our own towels instead of the B&B's, so ours would stay clean for our drive home!

Also, from the time we parked and entered the yard, there was a calm on this property!

Oh, and the beach is literally a couple of minutes walk away!!! The tub in the Sea Cabin was AMAZING! Breakfast was fresh, hot, and AMAZING! It wasn't just a cheapy breakfast; it was wonderful and delicious! Every SINGLE need was met and we just felt like we were at home from start to finish!!

The ONLY thing that was disappointing was that we decided to stay another night while there, and they were BOOKED SOLID!!! We will be BACK to TYBEE, and to this B&B as often as we possibly can! We just LOVE it!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Txsstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Simons Island, GA
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We have stayed at other, better, B&B's for less money and came away wanting to return. This Inn was lacking in amenities and ambience commensurate with the nightly cost. However, this was greatly offset by the charming Inn Keeper Kathy, who made our stay enjoyable. If only the owners would invest in some better decorating and services (ie: ice for the room) this would be a place to come back to.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rickltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

The pictures of the grounds do not compare to the actual beauty of the gardens, the trees, the clever and beautiful garden ornaments, everywhere you look, there is another little surprise. Honestly, I was in awe at the view. We stayed in the Savannah Beach room. It is not a huge room, but it was certainly comfy, very clean and pretty. I was a little hot at night, and Kathy was quick to bring in a fan for us. The bed was really, really comfy and the sheets so soft!
The walk to the beach is NOT far as another person stated. You walk through a parking lot, then make a right and you are on the beach. It is 5 minutes and it is a pretty walk. This is to a more private part of the beach, not by the boardwalk.
Breakfast was always terrific. Kathy outdoes herself. She tries to accomodate everyone, very kind hearted. There was a young boy staying with his family and she was talking about maybe making chocolate chip pancakes for him, since kids like that sort of stuff. Really, she is a marvelous host all around, she was always right there with aloe, solarcaine, extra hats, you name it.
This is an old historic home. So if you are looking for something spanking new, sorry. We looooved the inside of the home. It has creeky floors and a feel about it that was just homey.
As far as cooking, we had oven baked pancakes with a pecan topping that was delish! A tapioca/chocolate pudding topped with berries and powdered sugar one morn, Stuffed french toast with berry topping that was unbelievable and quiche another morn, each was terrific.
My ONLY suggestion would be to not serve muscadine wine, EVER. LOL!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatandJohnGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
0.5 mi away
Desoto Beach Hotel
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 9 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 stars 867 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#8 of 9 in Tybee Island
3.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
1.6 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 9 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
15.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah Historic District/Riverfront
1.6 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 9 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tybee Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tybee Island Inn

Property: Tybee Island Inn
Address: 24 Van Horne Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9780
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tybee Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty minutes from Savannah, a several minute stroll from the beach and two blocks from the Tybee lighthouse, Tybee Island Inn captures the beach casual essence of Tybee with style. Sleep Your Seashore Fantasy in king and queen guest rooms inspired by the sea- Mermaid, Dolphin, Lighthouse, Sea Cabin, Captains Quarters, Savannah Beach and Sunset all with private baths, air conditioning and cable TV. Other amenities include private decks, gardens, gazebo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tybee Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tybee Island Hotel Tybee Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing