We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not ever again...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea & Breeze Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not ever again...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We only stayed here to keep from sleeping in our car, which would probably have been 10 x better. Rooms are all upstairs and walls are thin. The room was dirty and only 1 small trash can there for both the bathroom and bedroom. Had I not anointed the place with oil, I don't think I would have fallen asleep. In other words, it was only by God's grace & protection that we were able to get a few hours of sleep. Parking is absolutely ridiculous!! I can't stress this point enough. There is no way to get in and out of your vehicle without hitting the one next to it and vice versa. Though the employee at check-in was friendly, trust me...if we go down to Tybee again, we won't stay overnight on the island if we can't find something even slightly better than this place. We will just head on into Savannah town. Our advice: don't waste your time or $ at this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gagoldgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    67
    53
    52
    74
See reviews for
100
84
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This place was in terrible need of updating and repair. There was a painting crew working the weekend we were there, covering up rust with a different color. Holes in the stairs were scary. Elevator was out of order-we were on the 3rd floor, (if you count street level as 1st.) carrying suitcases around wet paint not fun. You could see outside through the cracks in the door, closed. Loud noisy neighbors and street noise. Will not recommend or be back. For $110 a night, I expected a little nicer.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSiddel, General Manager at Sea & Breeze Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for the time you took to right this review. There are a few things that I wanted to bring our audiences attention. We are currently renovating our property. We are not just covering rust with paint. We have invested a substantial amount of money on our exterior. The elevator is out of order, due to it being completely replaced, which is another upgrade we are working on. We hoped to have all these projects done before the busy season, however, it has taken us more time than expected. We apologize for the inconvenience this has caused our guests, however we are doing our best to improve our product daily.

Best regards,
Leonard Massey
General Manager, Sea and Breeze Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tybee Island hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel. First room we were placed in needed a new battery for the smoke detector, so they moved us. Second room was nice. The outside of the hotel needs some updates, though they were working on painting the exterior while we were there. The office offered coffee, but didn't open until 8:30am, so we weren't able to have any. There wasn't a coffee maker or hair dryer in the room. The location is great- not far from the beach and right next to some good restaurants. For the money, it was a good place to stay. If you are looking for a 5 star resort, you will not be happy here. If your expectations are reasonable for the price, you will be happy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen_S21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

The room was dirty. Looked like they didn't bother even trying to clean out the dirt from floors and it was even on the beds along with cigarette burns on the comforter. The staff was friendly, location was perfect but i cannot stand a filthy room. The hotel was run down and in serious need of an upgrade. Also if you have a big truck, don't stay here...parking is too tight and your truck will get hit with a door! Parking is ridiculous.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank only5cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSiddel, General Manager at Sea & Breeze Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
We apologize for the mishap you experienced at our property. A mistake was made with this guests room when they checked in. The room was not ready. I had housekeeping service the room immediately and apologized for the inconvenience. I completely empathize with this guest for the initial impression that we gave to them at our property. If their is anything else that we can do for you personally please give us a call at the hotel. The number is 912.786.8806.

Sincerely,
Leonard Massey
General manager, Sea and Breeze Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware Shoals, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our stay in this hotel was awesome!! We were close to everything, never had to get in our car to go anywhere on the island. Great place to stay if you aren't expecting a lot of extras and priced was decent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a very nice hotel close to the beach. It was one block off the beach and was located right at the fishing peer. The location was close to a lot of stores and clubs and also the beach. The room was very clean and had all the usual furnishings. It was a bit small for a family but the room we had was meant for a couple i am sure since it only had one queen sized bed. The only thing i could find wrong with the place was that the wall paper seemed to be wrinkled and the toilet did not shut off completly so it dripped. The wall paper was not a big deal and did not bother me at all and we just kept the bathroom door closed. Other than that it was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah0263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Our experience in this hotel was great. Our room was very clean and everything worked like it was supposed to. The staff were very friendly. This hotel is on Tybrisa St and its not even a block to the beach. The pier is at the end of the street and just about all the bars and restaurants are within walking distance. You can park your car and not need it for the rest of the weekend, unless you want to tour the lighthouse or Fort Pulaski. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSiddel, General Manager at Sea & Breeze Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
As always, we at the Sea&Breeze appreciate hearing from you. Thank you for this great review. We will continue to improve our property so that each experience is a delight for all guests. i hope we get the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Best Regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager, Sea and Breeze Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
1.3 mi away
Desoto Beach Hotel
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
0.1 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
11.7 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#10 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunes Inn & Suites
Dunes Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea & Breeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea & Breeze Hotel

Property: Sea & Breeze Hotel
Address: 16 Tybrisa Street, Tybee Island, GA 31328
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea & Breeze Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea and Breeze Hotel is the only hotel located on Tybee’s South Beach. Many of the most popular gift shops, art galleries, restaurants and bars on the island are all within one block of the hotel. Vacationers love our relaxed, laid-back island. Unlike most highly commercial beach destinations, we’re on Tybee Time here and you will be too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Sea & Breeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea And Breeze Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing