We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice beach but paid parking only” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tybee Island Beach

Tybee Island Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Private Electric Or Traditional Guided Bike Tours In Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Smithfield RI
Level Contributor
121 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very nice beach but paid parking only”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Nice beach but surprised that in the off season you still had to pay at the meters. No obvious parking lot but just street parking that was costly even in October

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Raisinbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,201
    698
    265
    80
    56
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A very pleasant beach to walk and swing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

My wife and I just returned from our first visit to Tybee Island Beach. As mentioned previously, the one main street town is laid back without any honky tonk or high rises. It was our experience that signs were posted on entering town, often on the main street and on the side streets we went on that stated clearly that paid parking was enforced from 8AM to 8PM SEVEN DAYS A WEEK. Payment was to be made in meters or in the pay stations in the middle of the side streets. These stations charge $1.50 an hour and coins or credit cards are accepted. the machines issues payment tickets which you post on the driver's side of you dash. A previous reviewer's experience may well have been different. I have the feeling that the parking rules might be pretty recent judging from the huge number os signs.

There seems to be public access to the beach at the end of every side street. No pets are allowed nor is any alcohol. We saw someone in a motorized cart driving down the beach and assume, perhaps incorrectly, that they have some official capacity.

With the tide out the beach is smooth, hard-packed sand and we saw many bicycle riders. Above the tide line the beach is fine white sand. A really thoughtful feature is the wooden bench swings which seat two. They are located every quarter mile or so high up on the beach just before the barrier dunes. We sat swinging, looking over the ocean and people watching for almost an hour. Very relaxing.

It IS early November so there were not many people on the beach. But with only moderate commercialization as you enter town and a few bars and restaurants at the far end of town there seems to be only one reason to go to Tybee Beach--the beach.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tybee Island visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Tybee Island beach is fantastic! It is my favorite beach because it is quiet in the early morning and a great place for a beach walk. I like the beach in all kinds of weather, I walked when it was very windy and also when it was very warm and sunny. The north end of the beach is getting too developed but is still an enjoyable walk on the beach.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara4591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great beach, beautiful. Laid back beach town. Has all ammenities minus the boardwalks, high rises, and major chains.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dadickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Warning! Parking is not free!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

It had been several years since we last visited Tybee Island. We were well aware of the need to feed a parking meter every time we wanted to park and walk over to the beach, so a trip to Tybee Island, including today's trip, has always included several dollars worth of quarters.

When we arrived today, the island had a delightful "off season" feel to it. Traffic was very light and there weren't many people on the street. When we pulled in to visit the fishing pier, it was a bit surprising to see that a film production company had been given the use of the entire parking lot nearest the pier. No big deal really. We just drove down the street a bit and pulled into the second lot. What surprised me was the absence of both parking meters and curbside signs indicating that there was a charge to park in the nearly deserted lot. My assumption (wrong!) was that there was no charge for off season parking, which has been our experience at a number of other public beaches.

My wife and I spent no more than 20 minutes walking to the pier, and when we got back to the car, guess what we found? A $35 parking ticket!!! As it turns out, there is a small kiosk type machine on the other side of the parking lot which dispenses receipts, which must be displayed to avoid getting a ticket.

If the ticket was for $10 or $15, I would chalk up the experience to "shame on me for not checking better", but $35 is enough to raise my ire and want to warn fellow travelers not to make the same mistake when visiting the beach near the pier at Tybee Island.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichmondRoadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tybee Island Beach also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Tybee Island Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing