We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation!”
Review of Tybee Island Beach

Tybee Island Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Private Electric Or Traditional Guided Bike Tours In Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
missouri
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Relaxation!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was our first visit to Savannah, GA and we were advised to spend at least one day at Tybee Beach. So we drove out from the historic district. The island was easy to find and we found parking at the beach with no problem; right by the pier. You will pay for parking no matter where you try to park. There are meters and meter police! We arrived early and pretty much had the place to ourselves. It was a weekday so there really weren't a lot of people, even when it got later in the day. I had so much fun feeding the gulls. They were hysterical to watch as they went around to unguarded bags trying to peck their way in and find food. Most of the time they did! So make sure you keep your chips, snacks, etc. in a cooler or some similar container because plastic bags don't stand a chance against these thieves! Also, beware of the jelly fish. There wasn't much to do or see off the beach in the pier area. A couple of restaurants and shops but that's about it. The shops were your typical T-shirt /beachwear places. Overall, we had a really nice day in the sun and the surf.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank diverdown46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,332
    752
    280
    87
    59
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice weekday walk”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Tybee Beach is funky and unique. Not upscale, not trendy. But it is authentic and on a nice day during the week, a wonderful place to walk on the beach! Be sure to check on what events are scheduled for the weekends because they can take away from the experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CumberlandIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Crowds or NoCrowds - your choice”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The thing I love most about Tybee is that you can keep to the north part of the island and the beach has little to no one on it. You can go on down to the main 'strip' and find all the people smiling and friendly as can be. Its all up to what kind of beach atmosphere you want! The beach itself is gorgeous, nice and clean.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 5beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love it so much, we got married here!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our first trip to Tybee Island was back in April of 2011. It immediately became one of our favorite places to go, and we've been back numerous times since. We are from Columbia, SC, so it's about a 3 hour trip for us. Now, anytime we get a chance to take a weekend getaway, Tybee wins every time.

This is a small beach, and it's very family friendly. And although it's one of our favorite places to go, I do not know that we could spend a whole week here, as there's not a ton of things to do. If you're looking for a nice, relaxing beach trip, this is the place to go. There are a few restaurants, a few bars, a few beach shops, and a few hotels, and that's pretty much it! Savannah is a short 20 minutes away, and well worth a day trip. Savannah is very beautiful and a lot to do and see.

As stated in my title, my husband and I consider this a very special place. I do not know why we fell in love with Tybee, we just did. We chose Tybee Island as our wedding destination. We got married on 10/11/12 (the anniversary of his parents as well) at Sunrise. It was so beautiful. As another reviewer stated, "this place has something magical about it."

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice beach, quiet community”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My mother , sister and I greatly enjoyed Tybee Island and it's beaches. We spent 5 days there, including part of a weekend. I'd like to try and clarify some of the inconsistency with the reviews of this beach. In April it was a quiet and "natural" beach. Meaning the beach felt like the Oregon coast beaches with small grasses/dunes and some natural debris from the local marsh grasses as they die off. I found the beach lovely and would not hesitate to visit again. The beach is about 1-2 miles long with the quietest area being on the north end, where it is primarily residential. The south end is where the pier, gift shops, and restaurants are located. Fishing is permitted off the pier but it looked like it was bring your own fishing pole/supplies.

There is NO board walk with rides, snow cones, and a general festival like feel. It is primarily a beach with amenities nearby. It's a wonderful walking walking beach due to the 9 foot tides that occur daily. Nice firm soft sand to walk or ride your bicycle on. We wandered around frequently in our bare feet. The beach was perfectly clean of human trash, despite the fact we arrived the night 'Orange Crush' was dispersing.

A word on Orange Crush. The locals told us it happens during a random weekend in the spring, so no one can plan for it. It is a one day affair. We walked around town on our end of town the night it was ending and yes, traffic was abysmal - you are stuck on the island for the evening as the police apparently stop cars leaving to make sure no one is drinking and driving. But it's only one night and will not ruin anyone's vacation if you happen to be there that weekend, but don't bother to come just for the day because there will be no parking. Apparently about 4,000 young folks take over the beach. I suspect the North end of the beach was still pretty quiet as all the traffic was coming from the south end.

The local neighborhoods were adorable and we spent time just walking around to enjoy the local architecture. I am originally from the west coast and this was much different from our beach neighborhoods. Lots of single family homes, colorful, and many up on stilts. Per the locals about 2,000 people live year round on the island. We enjoyed the marshes as well and took a local boat tour. We were able to watch the dolphins play right from the beach and saw them from our boat tour as well. Lots of brown pelicans diving after fish.

There is limited parking but there was plenty when we were there (minus Orange Crush). Stay within walking distance, which is just about every home, or bring your bike to get from one end of the island to the other. From what I could see almost all homes were within a 5 block walking distance. Back roads are quiet and safe for families/older kids to walk.

The ocean was quiet when we were there, no huge swells, though they do surf on the south end of the beach. Gradual drop offs so it's safe for kids to play along the edges.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tybee Island Beach also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Tybee Island Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing