We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“#4 attracation on the ISLAND is it's beach...enough said.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tybee Island Beach

Tybee Island Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Private Electric Or Traditional Guided Bike Tours In Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
US
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“#4 attracation on the ISLAND is it's beach...enough said.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We decided to visit Tybee while on vacation in Savannah. Wow what a disappointment. We were only there 30 minutes before we had seen enough and left.

As others have said rumor has it they dredge the river for the ships and it ends up on the beach. The black silt in the water and on the beach comes from somewhere. Maybe it is from dredging, maybe not. Regardless its nasty. As for the volume of cigarette butts all over the beach I am not sure what excuse one can give for those other than the clientele that frequents the beach. To top it off as we were gettign in the car to leave two drunks began yelling at my 15 year old daughter (dressed in jeans and hoodie). They tripped over the curb and bounced off trees and poles before finally stumbling into the bar right across from the beach. Suffice to say Tybee wins no family friendly award in my estimation.

The town of Tybee itself wasn't much better. It was small and run down. I have been to many, many beaches and beach towns and Tybee may be the dingiest I have ever seen. I wouldn't spend another minute on Tybee or it's beach. So glad we checked it out while in Savannah instead of coming for a beach vacation.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank heisrisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,201
    698
    265
    80
    56
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tybee Island, Ga...Don't bother!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband & I visited Tybee in July 2012. It was not nice. We are "beach people" and live in Florida and have been to most every beach, so hought we would try Tybee. The beaches are not very clean, the "strand" as it is called is about a block long, and is very old, dirty, and downright sleazy. We like seafood and selected restaurants with mostly favorable reviews. Not a single one was worth revisiting. The few shops we ventured into were tacky tourist traps. We leased a condo which had a nice view, sothe lack of good restaurants forced us to just order pizza two nights-both Lighthouse Pizza and Pizza on Wheels were pretty good. Parking everywhere is pre-pay or metered. What is that all about? The parking revenue definitely is NOT going bacy into the island to improve it. In Sarasota, with Siesta Beach, deemed the nicest beach last year, it doesn't even require paid parking and the beach is pristine.
The accomodations were gererally poor and overpriced. The summer is evidently the slow season, but rates were still pretty pricey. Still beach lovers, but will not ever return to Tybee.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank 1445gmdlbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

beaches were clean and were handicap accessible. be careful though you must pay to park on the island between 8am - 8pm

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Water not blue and sand not white but I was looking for solitude and found it! The sunrise was beautiful and you could walk a long time and not be disturbed by anyone. The dolphins were out EVERY day and the pelicans were always there too!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seekonk, MA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best beach ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

The beach at the lower end of Tybee is incredible at low tide all sand, feels like you are walking on the moon!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank macfudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tybee Island Beach also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Tybee Island Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing