We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The CANNON was the highlight!”

Fort Pulaski National Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$205.00*
and up
Fort Pulaski and Downtown Savannah Helicopter Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This fort, built in 1829, offers historical tours.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
374 reviews
309 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“The CANNON was the highlight!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We enjoyed our brief visit to Fort Pulaski. The Cannon firing was the highlight. That BOOM is still resonating with me. It was so low pitched. The movie was nice. Seeing the cannons was interesting. We missed the tour which was disappointing. There was ample parking and there are other things to do, like hiking trails. We didn't go but others were. I liked the moat around the fort. Glad we went.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LAtoEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,402
    484
    58
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greenbrier
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Loved the history!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have visited three times. We enjoyed both the guided tour and the casual walk around the entire complex. The views are amazing. Well worth the time for a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kaye A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ft Pulaski, Tybee Island GA”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

If you enjoy history as myself and my wife you will enjoy this site. Very well kept grounds and the park guides are very informative . This is a nice part of GA to visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank upship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend a day.”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The fort is a short drive from downtown, but well worth it. I was never much of a history buff, all that dry reading and boring dates. BUT I have discovered that going to these historical sites can be much more fun and educational than history class.
Spend the few extra dollars if you live in the area and get the annual pass that lets you in all GA state parks. Three other people can be in the car, saving money.
There is quite a bit of walking here, so wear sturdy,comfortable shoes and bring water. The fort has many steep stairs to take you onto the upper level, but the view up there is spectacular. You can see Tybee Island lighthouse, and remember that the fort was hit by cannon fire from 1.5 MILES away! It almost destroyed it.
The way they lived, WOW! A tiny stove for warmth, two in a bed, but they HAD beds. The officers had it a bit better. The prisoners, well I am pretty sure they had no heat at all.
There was a musket firing demo, very cool.
Take the hour and walk the path through the salt marsh and woods to the lighthouse. There is quite a bit of oyster shell, so beware that you are not traipsing around in flip flops.
Picnic area, and I will be sure and come back when the marsh is full of birds.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gives you chills!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was one of the most gorgeous things we seen while on Tybee Island. This was our first visit and we LOVED it! You can walk around and explore the fort and it makes you have goose bumps just knowing how many people have lived and died there! The beauty just standing in the middle of the fort is overwhelming. The view from the top is breathtaking. This was an experience I will never forget!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Pulaski National Monument also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Fort Pulaski National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing