We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fort Pulaski”

Fort Pulaski National Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$205.00*
and up
Fort Pulaski and Downtown Savannah Helicopter Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This fort, built in 1829, offers historical tours.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fort Pulaski”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Fort Pulaski was captured by the union forces early in the several war. It overlooks the Savannah river and thusly robbed the confederates of Savannah as a port. The union used it to house confederate officers who were prisons of war. Those who have visited Fort Jefferson in the Dry Tortugas will recognize many of the same features. Well worth a drive out from Savannah for a change of scenery, and then head right over to the Crab Shack on Tybee Island, about 10 minutes a way.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank pipehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,405
    486
    59
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Beautiful Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

What a way to spend a couple of hours learning about some history. The speakers were very friendly and had loads of information to share! It was such a beautiful day out, we decided to go to the light house as well, a great walk.

Helpful?
Thank TinaNcarolina1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect afternoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I was so pleasantly surprised at how interesting this was! It took close to 2 hours, cheap, lots to see, great place to goof around and take some pics. My husband and I went and recommend it to anyone, even kids. I also highly suggest you watch the video inside before the tour bc it had so much good and interesting history information. We didn't do a guided tour bc we rather go at our own pace. Again had a great time!

Helpful?
Thank only5cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great walk & history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

The national park is well maintained. The views are beautiful & the site is fun to walk with lots of displaces. The cannon demonstration is interesting.
In this time point in our history (the Civil War) we first see how new technology can & did change our future. Guess what that was...go there & discover it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PoodleGlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tybee Island, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“History galore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

A wonderful example of the rich history that awaits those who visit the GA coast. Check for calendar when there will be Civil War reenactments. Kids like this.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Pulaski National Monument also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Fort Pulaski National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing