We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOOD”

Gerald's Pig & Shrimp
Ranked #12 of 55 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $35
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Come as you are, bring the family...eat, drink and be merry. Gerald’s Pig and Shrimp is a casual outdoor dining establishment, backdropped with towering shade trees and located across the road from Tybee Island’s sprawling salt-water marshes. The brick patio is housed in an open air structure, a 14’ high pole barn fabricated with reclaimed materials, beautifully landscaped and decked out with an array of eclectic eye-candy. We specialize in slow-smoked meats pork, ribs and brisket, as well, fresh, Wild Georgia shrimp, fried, boiled or sauteed. All our sauces and marinades are made in house. We use fresh herbs from our side garden. We offer daily specials, dinners, sandwiches, appetizers and local beer, wine and sangria. We’re pet friendly as long as they’re friendly and on a leash and have free parking on property.We strive to ensure our guests’ experience is top-notch by providing fresh, tasty, high quality fare at a reasonable price, in a relaxed atmosphere with exceptional customer service.Planning an event? We also cater, offering choices of Southern Style Comfort Food, Bar-B-Que, Whole Pig-Roast, Oyster Roasts, Low Country Boil, site location, and entertainment.
Albany, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Bizarre restaurant, story is that Gerald wanted to open a food trailer operation but a councilwoman owning a competing restaurant tried to impede him, resulting in the ridiculous toilet trailer hoisted 10 feet above the dining area. Welcome to Tybee. Gerald serves excellent food in an outdoor garden setting. It's cheap too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Purdy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookingforfun2, Owner at Gerald's Pig & Shrimp, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thanks for the kind words about my Food.
The reason that the prep room and restroom is elevated is because of the "Flood Zone" nothing more nothing less.
thanks again for taking the time to say nice things about "Geralds"
thanks
Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    162
    70
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice little road side stop for lunch!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in here on our way off of Tybee island. Small place, all outdoor seating. Excellent laid back, beach type atmosphere. I imagine that during summer this is just excellent to stop and hang out and have a beer. It's a little cold today for our stop but I still enjoyed it. Shrimp poboy was fabulous. Lightly battered shrimp that tasted very fresh with a great crunchy coleslaw. Brisket sandwich was good. Brisket was tender and sauce was good, a little but more sauce than I would have liked, but that's personal preference. The jalapeño hush puppies were very good. Not spicy at all but had a good jalapeño flavor. The house sauce, Tybee Sauce, was good on the pups. Sweet with a little heat from the habeneros. Overall great place. Would certainly stop here again next time through. Also, the owner is very present. Mingling with the patrons and making sure everything is good and everyone is happy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shellebelle83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really great food, especially the shrimp, in a relaxing,pleasant outdoor dining area”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

So glad we stopped here! We had not had any BBQ yet and we wanted to enjoy some more local shrimp before going home so this place seemed to fit the bill. We spotted the large covered eating area and picnic tables and pulled in for a late lunch.
We got the combo platter with BBQ beef, pork and fried shrimp. It comes with hush puppies and two sides- our choice was the fried okra and cucumber salad. The whole meal was wonderful but we particularly liked the sweet and tender shrimp- light, crisp and perfectly fried! We had to order more! The beef and pork were nicely smoked with a tasty BBQ sauce on the side. The cucumber salad was cool and welcome accompaniment with its slight tang. We enjoyed the crunchy okra and dense hush puppies.
This place is basically a trailer with a couple smokers out back and a rustic covered seating area with a casual beach bar and a few extra picnic tables. Yet the setting is quite peaceful, shady and picturesque, perfect for a casual meal on Tybee Island! The dining area was clean and had ceiling fans and a little fire pit in the middle if it gets too cool. There were some colorful touches for décor and a clean restroom.
We loved the atmosphere here and the owner and staff are all friendly and engaging and do a great job! It felt so comfortable and relaxing to have lunch here! Our food arrived quickly and my iced tea was never empty although we were there for a very late lunch so it was not crowded.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseB_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Waitresses?”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Gerald,

You should have stopped with the bar. I don't mind picking up my food at a window but having to wait 20 minutes to be served is crazy. Go check out the Shrimp Shack in St Helena to see why they have been in business for decades.

They kept it simple. You turned into a mediocre restaurant due to terrible service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MDCenturion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lookingforfun2, Owner at Gerald's Pig & Shrimp, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Yes we were busy, It was St Patricks Day. he busiest day of the year.
You reviewed the food as excellent, that is what we do best. I have posted signs that
'If you are in a hurry you might be in the wrong place"

I have a kitchen that turns out great food, Not fast food.

Geralds is a small Roadside Good Eats kind of Place at the Beach

Thank you for taking the time to tell me how you felt
Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elbert, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit! All welcome!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Phone review so one of my shorter ones! Take a walk down the road! The most ease place on the isle! Great menu, service spot on! Don't miss it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gerald's Pig & Shrimp also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Gerald's Pig & Shrimp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing