We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

North Beach Bar & Grill
Ranked #10 of 55 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Nestled between the lighthouse and the beach, the North Beach Bar and Grill offers an amazing lunch and dinner menu that will tantalize even the most reserved palate. Eclectic fusion with a Caribbean flair, our menu features local, sustainable seafood and the freshest ingredients. While our chefs create gourmet dishes rivaling the best restaurants in town, we also serve hot dogs, crab cake sandwiches, fish tacos, and wings in our quaint beach shack by the sea. So whether you've been out on the beach and want a cold beer and a burger or you're planning a catered business luncheon, the North Beach Bar & Grill is the place for you.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Nice location, close to the lighthouse if that is part of your visit.
The food was very good. I had the jerk chicken which was very good. Others all had various fish sandwiches or tacos. Everyone was pleased with their food. Service was a little slow but they were busy.
My only complaint was is was so stinking hot. No inside seating, there are fans but as hot as it was it didn't help much. It was in the mid nineties. I would go again but only when it is a nice outdoor temperature.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tjb1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    341
    121
    41
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville TN
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent beach grill”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

We've visited NBB&G twice, both times having a blast. Highly recommend it for lunch or just a place to cool down with a beer.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kmagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One of the best on the Island”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

One of the best Bluesy bands I have hear in the few years and the $2.00 Red Stripe tall cans of Beer and the excellent fish appetizers made it a night to remember.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great local spot; eclectic menu!”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised to find this spot on our visit to Tybee Island. We dined there twice during our visit and we were definitely pleased on both occasions. It is laid back and there are no frills but the food was very good with a Caribbean flair. I got the jerk chicken which, if you're into that kind of thing, was excellent. The rest of the group got a bunch of different dishes and everyone seemed genuinely satisfied. They also have daily specials which I thought was pretty cool. This is definitely is a different dining venue than the other places we went to on Tybee which looked pretty much like "fried paradise".

The one negative was that there is no AC...but the ocean breeze kept it relatively cool.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 59kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“....and Music”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Stopped by on the off chance there would be a table on a Saturday night and we were lucky to get one outside within striking distance of the live band. They were well supported by some great food and we willed away an enjoyable hour and then some, eating, drinking and listening. Perhaps next time the staff might want to put some covers out on the rather damp wooden bench seats, but then who cares about wet backside when your on Tybee, happy days!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank danielsdavidj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to North Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing