We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fun evening, with good food to boot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Beach Bar & Grill

North Beach Bar & Grill
Ranked #12 of 53 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nestled between the lighthouse and the beach, the North Beach Bar and Grill offers an amazing lunch and dinner menu that will tantalize even the most reserved palate. Eclectic fusion with a Caribbean flair, our menu features local, sustainable seafood and the freshest ingredients. While our chefs create gourmet dishes rivaling the best restaurants in town, we also serve hot dogs, crab cake sandwiches, fish tacos, and wings in our quaint beach shack by the sea. So whether you've been out on the beach and want a cold beer and a burger or you're planning a catered business luncheon, the North Beach Bar & Grill is the place for you.
Asheville NC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fun evening, with good food to boot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

One of the best spots for local color, this restaurant has had the same management for over 20 years. The food is very good, made even better by the dining experience....and if George is on site, be certain to visit with him (you can't miss him). The chef is skilled in some unusual dish, so don't be afraid to try the goat, elk or lamb (depending on what's on the menu. Portions are large, so come hungry...and if it isn't too busy, see if Jody is working. She's a terrific server and a very interesting lady....and save room for dessert.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank fredfrogAshevilleNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    301
    104
    33
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

So glad we took our travel agent's advise and ate here. The service was excellant, drinks were cold and the food was great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MiniGart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blustry Day but great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in on a cool, windy Monday for lunch and had one of the best hoagie sandwiches I've ever had. The bread tasted homemade and the fish was a large piece of Cod. I tried the red beans and rice as a substitute and while good, they needed to be warmer. Atmosphere was beach casual and the wait staff were friendly and accommodating. I'd definitely go back, but wouldn't pay the extra fee to sub the beans and rice.

Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tybee island, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A delightful dinner at the beach on Tybee Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

My former roommate from college on the West Coast came to town unexpectedly with his friend. We wanted to take them out to a casual place with great food and of course, thought of North Beach Grill. My wife and I are vegan and our guests are not. No problem, the restaurant always has a vegan plate of the day it can fix which is delicious. The tab was very reasonable, $20 per person for the two local fish dinners and $14 for the vegan plates. I also had a Caesar salad for $6. This is a gem and we are fortunate to have great food, friendly waitstaff who are knowledgeable about the items they are serving. The setting is funky, being in the middle of Ft. Screven on the north end of the island with views of the sand dunes during daylight hours.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beauvais4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Warm and Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our lunch at the North Beach. It looks like one of those pop in off the beach places where you might find a hot dog and nachos but NOT SO... The food was really good and well prepared. The drinks were good and stout, and the service was excellent. We found out later that the two owners, Big George and little George, also cater a lot of upscale events. The two any sex bathrooms were a little confusing, but part of the charm of the place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to North Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing