We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my top two Tybee restaurants”

North Beach Bar & Grill
Ranked #9 of 54 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nestled between the lighthouse and the beach, the North Beach Bar and Grill offers an amazing lunch and dinner menu that will tantalize even the most reserved palate. Eclectic fusion with a Caribbean flair, our menu features local, sustainable seafood and the freshest ingredients. While our chefs create gourmet dishes rivaling the best restaurants in town, we also serve hot dogs, crab cake sandwiches, fish tacos, and wings in our quaint beach shack by the sea. So whether you've been out on the beach and want a cold beer and a burger or you're planning a catered business luncheon, the North Beach Bar & Grill is the place for you.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of my top two Tybee restaurants”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Of all the restaurants on Tybee, this ranks in my top two.
Great food in a casual atmosphere, right next to the beach. Although the view is of a parking lot, you can still sit outside and enjoy the Caribbean vibe, and be steps away from the Atlantic Ocean. I've never had a bad meal at this restaurant. The drinks are good, strong and cold, and the menu has plenty to choose from. You HAVE to order the fried plantains and fresh salsa. Yummy in my tummy!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JillEJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    325
    109
    36
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Casual Beach Dining”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Love the atmosphere and the food is surprisingly delish. The fare is not your typical bar food. They have daily specials and they chefs obviously have put alot of thought and creativity into the menu. We couldn't get enough of the fish bites and I believe it may have been an aioli that was served with them as a dipping sauce. The sweet potato fries were served with sweet sauce that tasted of honey and balsamic vinegar; I loved how it complimented the fries. The portions are also plentiful.
There is usually a live band in the evenings. Kids are ok, but you may want to head home once the sun starts to set. Because hey, it's bar!
The only thing lacking here is that the service is a little slow and the waitstaff just doesn't seem to be all that organized. But after a few drinks and good meal, who cares about the speed of service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Latasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Took my daughter who was visiting and wanted to eat there. Server was disinterested, and unwilling to ask the kitchen for a minor modification. Have been going there for years and would think twice before returning. Disappointed!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OMAHA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best food on the beach”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

North Beach is casual outdoor dining. The prices are good and the fish sandwich I had was the best I've ever had. The crab cakes are outstanding. Don't miss it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CINDY Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneida, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“family gathering for reunion”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great entertainment and laid back. Don't expect fancy you are literally on the beach and enjoy. perfect spot for lunch before or after the Light House tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ralphie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to North Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing