We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Beach Bar & Grill

North Beach Bar & Grill
Ranked #11 of 52 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nestled between the lighthouse and the beach, the North Beach Bar and Grill offers an amazing lunch and dinner menu that will tantalize even the most reserved palate. Eclectic fusion with a Caribbean flair, our menu features local, sustainable seafood and the freshest ingredients. While our chefs create gourmet dishes rivaling the best restaurants in town, we also serve hot dogs, crab cake sandwiches, fish tacos, and wings in our quaint beach shack by the sea. So whether you've been out on the beach and want a cold beer and a burger or you're planning a catered business luncheon, the North Beach Bar & Grill is the place for you.
Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I love this place, we always eat here when we are on the island. I love the atmosphere, especially at night. This is a place you go to when you have time to spare and want a really, really great meal. The service is excellent but the kitchen is slow.. I mean 2 hours slow. Your server will let you know before you order The grilled Mahi is to dye for!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveForSail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    283
    100
    32
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best of Tybee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Perfect in every way. Although our food arrived in a fine amount of time, my sense was that it should be slow just for the sake of authenticity - it is a restaurant on a beach, not New York City. The food really shines. I had a brisket sandwich with red beans and rice as the side - someone at this restaurant loves food and can really cook! Beer selection was varied, good, and all bottled. I will return to this restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank West90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Now this is therapy!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you want to relax with the ocean breeze in your face enjoying great cocktails, wonderful service and good food, then North Beach Bar & Grill will not disappoint. The owner, George, will probably be sitting at the bar watching over his team making sure that the food that arrives at your table is food that he is proud of...and he is serious! Whether you sit indoors and enjoy the bahamian feel of simplicity or the spacious outdoor patio with walk up outdoor bar, prepare to relax!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberry, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food, slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Excellent Food, slow service. Worth the wait if you aren't in a hurry. Friendly staff
. Good music and atmosphere

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SSP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best food on Tybee, but...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

...make sure you bring some time, kitchen is slow. But certainly worth while! Had several items of the menue to include home made chips and salsa, beer battered fish bites, chicken wings, fish taco and $2 Red Stripes. All of it was excellent!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaddyScholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to North Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing