We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Oysters” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bernie's Oyster House

Bernie's Oyster House
Ranked #25 of 54 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Oysters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We ate lunch here on a Saturday. I got the Steamed Oysters on the half shell and they were delicious! Very fresh. My fiance got the fried shrimp and fish and he was very happy with his meal. Our waitress was very good. She brought us everything we needed and didn't let our drinks get low. This place is very casual and laid back and they had the big screen tv's for watching sports. We will definitely go back next time we are in Tybee.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    102
    56
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Snellville, GA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Let's put it this way...have you ever been served "finally" with ice on top of your oysters on a half shell? The ice stuck to the oysters. I had to wait a bit for the ice to melt before eating. We were served with plastic utensils. Try eating oysters with a plastic fork and the oyster is still attached to the shell. Our group then ordered dinner ~ never to be served after waiting 30 minutes and never seeing our waitress. WE WALKED!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnestwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Food was OK Beer was cold”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Took a day trip to Tybee while visiting Savanaha. Grabbed lunch at this place. Was just typical bar food nothing special. I ordered the fish tacos and was surpriced that the fish was fried. Oysters were good. Wife's burger was OK.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great service and grouper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

well we were there in the afternoon had a few beers and i ordered grouper and fries ate every last piece of grouper they were awesome cooked perfectly thanks to Rachel and Shayne had a bucket of steamed oysters said they were cooked to perfection and very nice size thanks to Rachel again.we will be back great location

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent casual meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We had an excellent casual meal at Bernie's. I ordered peel-and-eat shrimp which was so freshly made that they were too hot to eat! They were excellent as was the coleslaw. The rest of the party ordered other seafood selections and were equally satisfied. The bartender waited on us and the drinks were wonderful. Overall we will be eating at Bernie's Oyster House again.

Helpful?
Thank DeeDee353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bernie's Oyster House also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Bernie's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing